Old Dominion University Libraries
Special Collections of the ODU Libraries

Hass, Jeffrey (1953) | Special Collections of the ODU Libraries

Name: Hass, Jeffrey (1953)

Historical Note:

Jeffrey Hass (b. 1953) is currently Professor of Composition at Indiana University, Bloomington, where he serves as the Director of the Center for Electronic and Computer Music (CECM).  He is also a Fellow of the Institute for Digital Arts and Humanities, where he is investigating new interfaces for live interaction between music, video and dance. Mr. Hass has served on the faculties of Rutgers University and the Interlochen Center for the Arts. His compositions have been premiered by the Louisville Orchestra and Memphis Symphony, and been performed at Lincoln Center.  His works have also been performed at numerous national and international festivals for both music and dance.

Mr. Hass has received a number of professional honors and awards including the 1994 National Band Association Composition competition, as well as the 1995 Walter Beeler Memorial Award with Lost in the Funhouse, a work for symphonic band and electronic tape, and the 1996 Lee Ettelson Composer’s award for Keyed Up, a work for two pianos and tape. In 1997, All the Bells and Whistles placed first in the United States Army Band’s 75th Anniversary Composition Competition.  Recent awards include selection of his Symphony for Orchestra with Electronics for the2006 ASCAP/Rudolph Nissim award, the 2007 Heckscher Award for his chamber orchestra work City Life, and an orchestral commission by the 2008 Utah Arts Festival for Postcards from the Canyon.  This past year, he was awarded a fellowship at the Bogliasco Foundation Study Center in Liguria, Italy.

He attained his doctoral degree from Indiana University in 1989, where his principal composition teachers were Fred Fox, Donald Erb and Bernard Heiden, having studied previously with Robert Moevs and Richard Wilson. His band and orchestral works are published by Magnetic Resonance Music and Ludwig Music. Recordings of his works have been released by the Indiana University Press, the Society for Electroacoustic Music in the US (SEAMUS), Arizona University Recordings, Albany Records and RIAX Records.

Sources: http://magneticresonancemusic.com/

Page Generated in: 0.264 seconds (using 91 queries).
Using 8.25MB of memory. (Peak of 8.43MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-1
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign