Special Collections of the ODU Libraries

Jex, David | Special Collections and University Archives

Name: Jex, David

Historical Note:

David Jex is a native of Toledo, Ohio. After beginning his musical studies as a jazz trumpet player he attended The University of Toledo where he studied composition with Paul Schoenfield and trumpet with Bernard Sanchez. After receiving his Bachelor of Music degree he earned a Masters in Music degree in composition and theory at Bowling Green State University. He was awarded the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in 1978 from The Cleveland Institute of Music and Case Western University, studying composition with Donald Erb.

From 1978 to 1983 Jex was an Assistant Professor at Lycoming College in Williamsport, Pennsylvania ,where he was also a member of The Pennsylvania Governor's School for the Arts. Since 1983 he has taught at The University of Toledo, where he is now a Professor of Music, teaching courses in composition, theory and jazz. He is also a professional trumpet player and a member of the UT Faculty Jazz Combo.

Dr. Jex's compositions have been premiered, commissioned and performed nationally by major artists, including The Pro Musica Chamber Orchestra of Columbus, The Detroit Chamber Winds, and Professor Lynn Klock and the Ancora Chamber Ensemble of The University of Massachusetts. Awards he has received include First place in the 1985 National Composer's Competition sponsored by Louisiana State University, an Ohio Arts Council Individual Artist Fellowship in 1992, first place in the 1994 Chautauqua Chamber Singers Choral Composition Contest and consecutive special awards since 1987 from A.S.C.A.P. Many of Professor Jex's compositions for brass are available from Encore Music Publishers. His portfolio of works is diverse, and varies from solo and duo sonatas to an opera, an oratorio, a concerto and band and symphonic works.

Page Generated in: 0.079 seconds (using 100 queries).
Using 5.2MB of memory. (Peak of 5.9MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign