Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on History

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in history plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content, including sources for primary materials and specific historical eras. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites.

    Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. If you need assistance with your search, call the subject librarian (683-4484), the reference desk (683-4178), use the Ask-A-Librarian email form to send a message, or stop by the Reference Desk.
    This guide maintained by: Judy Trump Social Sciences Reference Librarian last updated: July 10, 2009

    Quick Start - Try These First

    Academic Search Complete
    Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    America: History and Life
    Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Historical Abstracts
    Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    JSTOR
    Provides a searchable database for hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Project Muse
    Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Books and Dissertations

    Dissertations and Theses Fulltext
    Contains more than 600,000 full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    ODU Library Catalog
    The Library of Congress classifications for history are D, E and F. The breakdown is as follows:
    D General History DK Russia
    DA Great Britain DS Asia
    DC France DT Africa
    DD Germany E United States
    DF Greece F US, Canada, Latin America
    DG Italy
    Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide. History dissertations written by ODU students are available on the 3rd floor of Perry Library at call number LD4331.H47.
    WorldCat
    Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Articles Using Databases

    America: History and Life
    Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
    Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of over over 1.3 million books and official publications, and 10 million articles published in over 2,000 journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online. Coverage varies by index.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Eighteenth Century Journals
    Provides access to a wide variety of rare newspapers and periodicals for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century. Collection I, covering 1693-1793, is from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Collection II, 1699-1812, is from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
    Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world, including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Historical Abstracts
    Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    JSTOR
    Provides a searchable database for hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Project Muse
    Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Primary Sources

    Accessible Archives
    Includes the following full text databases: African American Newspapers, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, Godey's Lady's Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County and The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
    Provides a full text electronic library of primary resources for the study of American History.
    America's Historical Newspapers
    Contains fully text-searchable cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic American newspapers from 1690 - 1922.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    American Memory
    Provides full text documents, books, images, audio files, and other resources on American history from the Library of Congress. Look at the sample search of the day to see how extensive these resources are.
    American Periodicals Series Online
    Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    American State Papers
    Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains approximately 6280 numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    British History Online
    Contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Included are the House of Commons Journal and House of Lords Journal
    Colonial State Papers
    Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries from two collections: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies and The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Colonial Williamsburg Digital Library
    Provides access to a unique set of resources devoted to early American history and Virginia's eighteenth-century capital. Searches and views digitized versions of rare books and manuscripts from a selection of reports on the buildings and people of 18th-century Williamsburg and the complete run of the Virgina Gazette to 1780.
    EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
    Provides links to translated, facsimile, or transcribed documents from Western European history. This site is maintained by a librarian at Brigham Young University's Harold B. Lee Library.
    HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction
    Provides full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly and a very elaborate index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and ads.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 1895-1976
    Provides a digital version of the US Government Printing Office’s authorized government bibliography from 1895 to June 1976. This comprehensive index describes over 1.2 million items and makes it much easier to locate historical government documents in all subject areas
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    NARA - U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
    Contains 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration from thousands of public laws, Supreme Court decisions, inaugural speeches, treaties, constitutional amendments and other documents that have influenced the course of U.S. history from 1776 to 1965.
    National Security Archive
    Collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspapers
    Provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    U.S. Congressional Serial Set
    Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2008 will cover 1817-1980.
    RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Virtual Jamestown
    Provides maps, first hand accounts and letters, court and public records, newspapers and many other digital resources that explore the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and "the Virginia experiment."

    Collections

    History Collections on Microform - Old Dominion University Libraries
    Provides a list of the historical collections housed in the Library's Microforms Department on the second floor. Includes the specific titles and call numbers in each collection.
    ODU Special Collections
    The Special Collections department houses the University archives, manuscripts, books, and other printed material related to Virginia and Tidewater History.

    Reference Resources

    AP Images
    Contains the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. [Does not include the audio, text and graphics files]. Coverage: current.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Congressional Committee Prints
    Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
    Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. When completed in December 2008, this retrospective collection will include all hearings from 1824-2003.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Congressional Research Service Reports
    Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
    Contains transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports provide a unique historical archive essential for international studies, political science and world history.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Historical Statistics of the United States Millenial Edition Online
    Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Web Resources

    Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
    Provides full text historical documents by century. The project was created by Yale Law School's Avalon project in law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government; original documents are also enhanced with links to supporting documentation.
    Cultural Maps in American Studies
    Provides atlases and maps covering American history from the University of Virginia and many other archival collections.
    Documenting the American South
    Provides internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
    Early Modern Resources
    Early Modern Resources is a gateway site for all those interested in finding electronic resources relating to the early modern period in history - 16th-18th centuries.
    Making of America
    Contains 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900. Provided by Cornell University Library.
    Research in the Library of Virginia Collections
    Provides links to digitized, print, and microform materials from the Library of Virginia's extensive colonial and state collections.
    The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
    Provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world.