Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Women's Studies

    This Subject Guide contains links to some key library research databases for finding articles related to women's studies--plus information about significant online resources and print materials housed in Perry Library's first floor reference section. The Web Resources section below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites.

    Look on the Library's Databases page for other valuable scholarly databases related to women's studies (listed mainly under the Social Sciences category). For more web resources, try a Google search with appropriate keywords for your specific needs. If you need assistance with your search, call the subject librarian (683-4169), the reference desk (683-4178), use the Ask-A-Librarian email form to send a message, or stop by the Reference Desk.
    This guide maintained by: Cynthia Swaine Instruction Services Librarian last updated: March 17, 2009

    Find Articles

    America: History & Life
    Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for journals from 1964 to the present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Its companion database for other areas of the world is Historical Abstracts.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Gender Studies Database
    Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, providing the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Covers publications dated 1972 to present.
    RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Sociological Abstracts
    Abstracts journal articles from over 1,700 serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1963 to present. A Cambridge database.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Women's Studies International
    Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research from 1972 to present. Essential sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. This database is a subset of the Gender Studies Database; there is no need to check both databases for articles related to women's studies.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Books

    ODU Library Catalog
    The library's online catalog includes information on books, media, journal and magazine subscriptions, and a variety of U.S government publications. The Library of Congress classification for women studies is HQ 1101-2030. You might also wish to browse in these areas: CT 3200-3830 Women's biography, PN 471-479 Women authors, HD 6050-6223 Employment, RG Women's diseases, and JF 847-855 Suffrage

    Reference Resources

    Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
    Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. This collection was started in the late 1800s by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen, and has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
    RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
    This 6-volume set covers Asia and Oceania, Central and South America, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa, North America and the Caribbean, and Sub-Saharan Africa. It is located in the Reference Room on the 1st floor of Perry Library; its call number on the shelf is HQ1154 .G74 2003. Other such valuable sources are on shelves nearby.
    Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
    One example of a multi-volume encyclopedia devoted to women's history, this set may be found in the Reference Room on the first floor of Perry Library. Its call number on the shelf is HQ1121 .O93 2008. Other similar sets are shelved nearby.

    Web Resources

    Center for American Women and Politics
    Includes research reports (full text),fact sheets and links to websites having to do with women and politics.
    FeMiNa
    Comprehensive directory of links to websites on education, health, business and more.
    Microforms - Women's Studies
    Links to a list which covers topics related to women in the United States, United Kingdom and Europe in microform and microfiche collections at Perry Library.
    National Women's Studies Association
    Provides news, links to educational and job opportunities, publications and products in the field.
    Women Watch
    United Nations information on women's issues; includes statistics and action plans.
    Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
    One of the most comprehensive research centers, it covers women's studies programs worldwide and includes many categories of links, from spirituality to sports to sexuality.
    Women's Studies Department, College of Arts & Letters, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about women's studies degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
    Women's Studies: Library & Internet Research Assistance
    Provides help to ODU students in finding various types of women's studies resources, such as periodicals and historical material in the library.
    Women: Archives Library Information Center
    Produced by the U.S. National Archives, this site provides access to historical information including journals and primary sources.
    WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies
    Organized by broad categories and narrower topics, this ACRL site links to reports, publications, organizations, etc.