Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Performing Arts--Theatre Arts and Dance

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes to theatre arts and dance plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites.

    Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in theatre arts and dance. If you need assistance with your search, call the subject librarian (683-4131), the reference desk (683-4178), use the Ask-A-Librarian email form to send a message, or stop by the Reference Desk.
    This guide maintained by: Elizabeth Hogue Instruction & Music Collections Librarian last updated: January 12, 2009

    Collections

    English Prose Drama Database
    Contains more than 1600 plays from the Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century. It includes plays, masques, entertainments, and certain closet dramas.
    English Verse Drama Database
    Contains more than 2,200 works from the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. A Chadwyck-Healey database.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    New York Public Library Dance Collection Catalog
    Describes the Library's collection of works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. It includes materials in many languages and serves as an index to an international range of dance periodicals. The catalog is extensively indexed and many items have detailed descriptions.
    Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database
    Includes 925 records of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts. This database is an on-going research project developed in association with the Indiana University Digital Library Program and retired IU faculty member, Herbert Seltz.
    The EServer Drama Collection
    Contains a collection of original plays and screenplays, criticism and links to other sites concerned with theatre. It publishes both classic and contemporary works.

    Find Books

    ODU Library Catalog
    The library's online catalog includes information on books, media, periodical subscriptions, and a variety of U.S. government publications. In using the online catalog, you may search by author, title, or keyword, in addition to other ways.

    The Library of Congress general classification for theater arts and dance topics is PN. The breakdown for theatre arts areas is as follows:

    PN 1560-1590 Performing arts and show business

    PN 1865-1999 Special types of drama, including radio and television

    PN 2000-3299 Dramatic presentation, theater management, staging

    PN 4001-4355 Oratory, elocution, recitation, etc.

    Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

    Indexes to Articles

    Academic Search Complete
    Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Arts and Humanities Citation Search
    Contains over 1.4 million records referencing more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Coverage: 1980 - present. NO FULLTEXT. A FirstSearch database.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Reference Works

    ABT’s Ballet Dictionary
    Provides a unique and interactive resource to the web using Quicktime video to demonstrate ballet positions.
    Actor's Resumes: the definitive guidebook
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF PN 2055.D48 1994
    Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF PN 2035.C27 2002
    Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion (electronic resource)
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. INTERNET GT507.E53 2005eb
    International Encyclopedia of Dance
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF GV 1585.I5F86 1998
    Internet Theatre Database
    Includes basic information on most Broadway shows since 1975 and most Broadway musicals for the past 50 years. This site is individually maintained by Keith Scollick.
    Musicals 101
    Includes an immense cyber encyclopedia of musical theatre, TV, and film. This site is individually maintained by John Kenrick.
    Obituaries in the Performing Arts
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF PN 1583.O25
    SIBMAS, International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions
    Lists over 7000 international institutions with material relating to the performing arts. Basic information is provided about the institution and its holdings.
    World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF PN 1861.W67 1994

    Web Resources

    Artslynx International Theatre Resources
    Contains a great array of theatre resources that link to hard to find sites. Site is individually maintained by Richard Finkelstein.
    Backstage.com
    Provides a complete online performing arts resource. Site managed by VNU eMedia, Inc.
    Ken McCoy’s Brief Guide to Internet Resources on Theatre and Performance Studies
    Includes a selection of links in theatre and performing arts which are non-commercial, comprehensive, research tools in this 2003 edition. Site maintained by Stetson University Associate Professor Ken McCoy.
    Playbill’s Theatre Central Sites
    Provides a central resource for contacting and communicating with Theatre professionals throughout the world.
    Theatre Arts Program, College of Arts & Letters, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about theatre arts and dance degrees, courses, faculty and more.
    Theatre History on the Web
    Provides easy access to useful research sites throughout the world. Site individually maintained by Jack Wolcott.

    Web Resources--Digital Collection-Primary Source Material

    American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress
    Includes primary source and archival materials relating to American culture and history.
    The Costume Gallery
    Includes over 3500 images on costume and fashion. Site individually maintained by Penny Ladnier.
    The Dancing Master, 1651-1728: An Illustrated Compendium
    Provides a unique database of images from the original and subsequent editions of “The English Dancing Master” by John Playford. The original edition, published in 1651, contained the figures and tunes for 105 English country dances; subsequent editions expanded to 6,217 dances.