|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on CommunicationThis Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in communication plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. |
||||
|
Databases |
CCMS - Infobase.com Communication, Cultural and Media Studies (CCMS) is maintained by Mick Underwood. The database attempts to cover most of the basics of communication, cultural and media studies.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The library's online catalog includes information on books, media, periodical subscriptions, and a variety of U.S. government publications. In using the online catalog, you may search by author, title, or keyword, in addition to other ways.
The Library of Congress general classification for communication topics is PN. The breakdown is as follows:
P 87-96 Communication and mass media
PN 4001-4355 Oratory, elocution, recitation, etc.
Also note: P 99.5 and BF 637 .N66 Nonverbal communication
Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.
Indexes to Articles |
Academic Search Complete Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
ComAbstracts Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. The Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) sponsors this site. Coverage varies by journals.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Communication and Mass Media Complete Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
CompPile Includes an index of published 20th century work in post-secondary composition and rhetoric. Coverage:1939-current.
ERIC Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Coverage:1966 - present.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
PsycINFO Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Reference Works |
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF P 87.5.E53 2002
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF P 87.5 E535 2003
Encyclopedia of Television Includes more than 1000 original essays that examine specific programs, people, and trends. Includes resource materials, photos and bibliographic information.
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF BF 637.C45 H287 2003
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (electronic resource) Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. INTERNET PN 1997.8.I58 2000eb
Museum of Broadcast communications Encyclopedia of Television Availablein the Perry Library reference room. REF PN 1992.I8 M874 1997
The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF TK 5644.M84 2004
VideoHound's golden movie retriever (electronic resource) Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. INTERNET PN1992.95 .V554 2005eb
Vocational Information Center: Communication Skills Focuses on writing skills in communication and includes dozens of web links.
Web Resources |
COMFILE! Includes links to communication and related sites compiled by John Reinard, faculty at California State University, Fullerton.
Communication & Theatre Arts, College of Arts & Letters, Old Dominion University Links to the department's home page, which has information about communications and theatre arts degrees, courses, faculty and more.
Kurylo's Communication Links Index Includes over 350 website links to various communication resources and organizations.
Links to Resources from Univ. of Iowa Dept. of Communication Studies Includes a rich resource for communication web links from the University of Iowa.
Web Resources--Digital Collection--Primary Source Material |
AD *Access Project Presents images and database information for over 7000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress Includes primary source and archival materials relating to American culture and history. Choose Collection Finder and browse the listings under Business and Economy.
Douglass: Archives of American Public Address Includes an archive of American oratory and related documents.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |