|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Linguistics
|
||||
|
Quick Start - Try These First |
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. A Cambridge database. Coverage:1973 - present.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
MLA Bibliography Covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage: 1963 - present. An InfoTrac database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Articles |
Academic Search Complete Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
ERIC Contains over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. 1966-present. Updated monthly.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. A Cambridge database. Coverage:1973 - present.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
MLA International Bibliography Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials. A Infotrac database. Coverage: 1963- present.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
PsycINFO Selected Fulltext 1887 - present. Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. 97% of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts journal articles from over 1,700 serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - present. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog Use the ODU Library Catalog to find out what books ODU library owns. The books are shelved using the Library of Congress classification. The call number for linguistics in general is P 1-1091. Specific languages will be found as follows:
Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide. Because linguistics crosses over to many other disciplines, other subject classifications may be useful.
PA Classical PG Slavic, Baltic, Albanian PB Celtic PH Finno-Ugrian, Basque PC Romance PJ Oriental PD Germanic, Scandinavian PK Indo-Iranian PE English PL East Asian, African, Oceanic PF West Germanic PM American Indian
WorldCat To identify other relevant book materials--not necessarily at ODU--and who owns them. WorldCat contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes records of manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Linguistics Data & Corpora |
CALLFRIEND American English-Southern dialect The corpus consists of 60 unscripted telephone conversations, lasting between 5 and 30 minutes. The corpus also includes documentation describing speaker information (sex, age, education, callee telephone number) and call information (channel quality, number of speakers). For each conversation, both the caller and callee are native speakers of Southern American English. All calls are domestic and were placed inside the continental United States, Canada, Puerto Rico or the Dominican Republic.
RESTRICTED TO OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF.
Linguistic Data Consortium One of the biggest distributors of various corpora for linguistic study.
Linguistic Data Resources on the Internet Consists of a topically organized list of language data resources on the Internet from the Summer Institute of Linguistics.
Santa Barbara Corpus of Spoken American English The corpus consists of speech files and transcripts of natural speech from the United States representing a wide variety of people and many ways the language is used.
RESTRICTED TO OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF.
Find Reference Materials |
Dictionaries, etc. (From Linguist List) -- Links to online dictionaries and translation tools.
From Language to Language Provides a tool which allows you search words from language to language. Includes translations for 7 languages.
Glossary of Linguistic Terms Extensive list of linguistics terms from SIL International.
ODU Library Reference Room The ODU library holds many dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks available in the Reference Room. Among them are:
Comprehensive Etymological Dictionary of the English Language (REF PE 1580.K47) Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics (REF P 29.C65) Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (REF P 29.E48) Handbook of Second Language Acquisition (REF P 118.2.H36) Dictionaries for all languages
Oxford English Dictionary Provides an Electronic version of the 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Web Resources |
Department of English, Old Dominion University Links to the department's home page, which has information about english degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
LINGUIST List Serves as a listserv for linguists. Provides a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.
Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-index Includes an extensive listing of linguistics resources.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |