|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Journalism
|
||||
|
Quick Start - Try These First |
General Reference Sources -- ODU Libraries Links to various reference sources available freely online or through library subscription.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Research Resources with News & Current Events (Space Today Online) Page with numerous links to reference sources, news publications, etc.
Find Articles Using Databases |
AJR--American Journalism Review Contains selected articles from the American Journalism Review.
Business Source Complete Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
ComAbstracts Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Other resources of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) are also available. Coverage varies by journals.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Communication and Mass Media Complete Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Factiva Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data from several thousand sources covering virtually every subject category. Note: Factiva only supports Internet Explorer version 5.01 or higher. Factiva does not support Macintosh or Netscape browsers at this time. Coverage:1980 - present.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Global Newsbank Contains current articles, news summaries, broadcasts and transcripts from hundreds of international sources. Coverage:1996 - present.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
MasterFILE Premier Provides access to general periodicals covering business, education, health, science and more, reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts, biographies, primary source documents, Magill Book Reviews, as well as an image collection of photos, maps and flags. 1975-present
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
PAIS Abstracts more than 480,000 articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about global public policy and social issues. Coverage:1972 - present.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for journalism is PN 4699-5650. Call number areas in communications and mass media are: P 87-96. Browsing in these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide. Since journalism can cover every possible subject area, a review of the LC Classification System might help.
WorldCat Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes records of manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Government Resources |
"Government Information Resources" From the library's Web site, find links to historical documents, statistics, foreign governments, intergovernmental organizations, etc.
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal Provides a collection of topical and customer-focused links connecting to millions of web pages from the federal government, local and tribal governments and to foreign nations around the world.
Virginia Freedom of Information Advisory Council Information about the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. Includes council meeting schedule, advisory opinions, members, and staff information.
Web Resources |
AP Stylebook -- Quick Reference "The following Quick Reference is taken from The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Manual, Sixth Trade Edition." From Boston College Web site.
Committee to Protect Journalists Features resources compiled by the CPJ including international news alerts, reports, and statistics of the number of journalists killed, missing or imprisoned worldwide.
Department of English, Old Dominion University Links to the department's home page, which has information about accounting degrees, courses, faculty and more.
Editor & Publisher Web site For information about the publishing industry.
Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting Contains articles, reports, and studies by FAIR, a national media watch group, opposed to media bias and censorship.
FindLaw Provides free legal information and features cases, statutes, legal news, and a lawyer dirctory.
First Amendment Center Offers access to information about the First Amendment. Useful for students, teachers, journalists, lawyers and the general public.
Freedom Forum Provides information about the Freedom Forum and its involvement with the Newseum, the First Amendment Center and the Diversity Institute.
Internet Library for Librarians Links to many ready reference items on the Web.
Journalism.org Contains studies, commentaries, and data analysis from the Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism.
NewsLink Provides an extensive resource for journalists.
Nieman Reports Online version of the Nieman Reports, a publication of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University.
On the Media Site representing a weekly, one-hour National Public Radio program devoted to media criticism and analysis.
Poynter Online Covers all aspects of journalism from the Poynter Institute for Media Studies.
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press A nonprofit organization which provides free legal help to reporters and news organizations.
The Pew Center for People and the Press Contains polls, public opinion research, and national surveys on public attitudes toward the press, politics, and public public policy issues.
The Smoking Gun Large collection of public documents on crimes, celebrities, politicians, and the FBI.
Virginia Press Association Represents newspapers throughout the state. Contains information on membership and activities.
Voice of the Shuttle:Media Studies Page Links to broadcast media, media theory & history, television and journalism sites.
World Almanac(FirstSearch) Contains biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts and statistics on a wide range of subjects.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Web Resources-Data Sources |
FedStats Provides easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by 70 agencies of the government for public use.
Finding Data Online Provides information on how journalists can use the internet to do research using basic math skills to understand data and statistical information.
VaStat Contains Virginia statistical data from the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service at UVA.
Web Resources-Image Databases |
AltaVista Image Search Includes a database of images of all types on the Internet.
AP Images Includes an electronic library containing the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
ARTstor Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
FOOTAGE.net Includes an index of hundreds of footage sources worldwide.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |