Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Marketing

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in marketing plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites.

    Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in marketing. If you need assistance with your search, call the subject librarian (683-4169), the reference desk (683-4178), use the Ask-A-Librarian email form to send a message, or stop by the Reference Desk.
    This guide maintained by: Miriam Bridges Business Reference Librarian last updated: November 9, 2008

    Find Books

    ODU Library Catalog
    The Library of Congress classification for marketing is HF 5415 through HF 5416.

    Indexes to Articles

    ABI/Inform
    Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research. Includes information on 60,000 companies. Coverage: 1986 - present. A Proquest database.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Business Source Complete
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Factiva
    Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data from several thousand sources covering virtually every subject category. Note: Factiva only supports Internet Explorer version 5.01 or higher. Factiva also now uses SSL so you will see a "certificate" message when accessing from off-campus. Simply click the YES button. Coverage: 1980 - present. A Dow Jones / Reuters database.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    LexisNexis Academic
    Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
    RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    ScienceDirect
    Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well. Coverage varies by journal.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Reference Works

    Statistical Abstract of the United States
    Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.

    Web Resources

    Ad Council
    Provides Public Service Advertisements (PSAs) addressing critical social issues for Americans. The Ad Council campaigns focus on the categories of Community, Education, and Health & Safety, with the goals of raising awareness, inspiring action and saving lives.
    Ad*Access
    Contains images of over 7000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company collection held by Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
    Advertising Age Data Center
    Contains marketing industry data compiled by the Ad Age Research Department. Includes statistics on largest media companies, magazines and newspapers. Plus the annual survey on the salaries of ad agency executives.
    Know This...Marketing Virtual Library
    Contains links to many websites covering many different aspects of marketing.
    Knowlege@Wharton
    Contains articles from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania. Requires free registration. Also has Web links.
    Marketing Department, College of Business and Public Administration, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about marketing degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
    Nielsen Media Research
    Contains general information plus some free reports on television and radio media market penetration.
    OAIster
    Contains a collection of freely-available, difficult-to-access academically-oriented digital resources (articles, theses, dissertations, etc.) from the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.
    US Census
    Provides links to the latest census data.