|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on FinanceThis Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in finance plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. |
||||
|
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for finance is HG.
Indexes to Articles |
ABI/Inform Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research. Includes information on 60,000 companies. Coverage: 1986 - present. A Proquest database.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Business Source Complete Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Factiva Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data from several thousand sources covering virtually every subject category. Also allows stock price tracking. Note: Factiva only supports Internet Explorer version 5.01 or higher. Factiva also now uses SSL so you will see a "certificate" message when accessing from off-campus. Simply click the YES button. Coverage: 1980 - present. A Dow Jones / Reuters database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
ScienceDirect Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well. Coverage varies by journal.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Web Resources - Banking |
FDIC Data Contains analytical, statistical and historical information on banks from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.
Statistical Resources on the Web/Finance and Banking Provides links to statistics on international and U.S. banking. From the University of Michigan library.
Web Resources - Market Analysis & Indices |
Dow Jones & Other Averages Contains information on various stock indexes. Click on "Averages" to link to charts of the historical DJ back to 1895.
Market Analysis System Links to an open-source software application that provides tools for analysis of financial markets using technical analysis. MAS provides facilities for stock and futures charting, including price, volume, and a wide range of technical analysis indicators.
MSCI Barra Contains equity index overview and fixed income indices.
Russell Equity Indexes Gives index descriptions, values and quarterly commentary.
S&P Indices Contains information on major indices from Standard & Poor's Corporation.
Web Resources - Real Estate & Insurance |
A.M. BEST -- Insurance Provides information on all aspects of the insurance industry. Includes the well known Best's Ratings. Registration required.
Fannie Mae Contains explanations of FNMA rules and FNMA applications. Scroll down the screen and on the left find a link to the database of Fannie Mae properties for sale.
Ginnie Mae Serves low-to moderate-income homebuyers with housing information. Ginnie Mae was created in 1968 as a wholly owned corporation within the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD.)
Insurance Information Institute Contains information on all types of insurance. Includes industry statistics, financials and outlook, hot topics, research studies and a glossary.
Mortgage Calculators Enables users to find the monthly payment for a particular loan and calculate discount points.
QuoteServ.com Offers free insurance quotes online or by phone on all types of insurance and provides links to financial services as well as a mortgage calculator that allows visitors to calculate the total cost of a loan including monthly payments and amortization.
Web Resources - Scholarly Work |
Finance Department, College of Business and Public Administration, Old Dominion University Links to the department's home page, which has information about finance degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
Knowlege@Wharton Contains articles from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania. Requires free registration. Also has Web links.
OAIster Provides a collection of freely-available, difficult-to-access academically-oriented digital resources (articles, theses, dissertations, etc.) from the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.
Web Resources - Stocks, Bonds, Mutual Funds, Futures, Options, & Commodities |
Bloomberg.com: Rates & Bonds Lists Triple-A Rated, Tax-Exempt Insured Revenue Bonds and US Treasuries. Published by Bloomberg.
Bonds Online Includes explanations of different types of bonds as well as quotes, yields and outlook. A subscription is required for the more specialized information.
Brill's Mutual Funds Interactive Includes guides and information about mutual funds plus links to funds.
Commodity Futures Trading Commission Contains information on "how to trade," a listing of trader's commitments, consumer advisories and enforcement bulletins. The CFTC is an independent agency of the U.S. government.
Invest Wisely: Mutual Funds Contains the Securities and Exchange Commission's guide to investing in mutual funds.
MORNINGSTAR Provides some free information about individual funds. Ratings are included in the free information.
Municipal Market At-A-Glance Contains the latest on the municipal marketplace including real-time Price Information and Ticker, in-depth Market Data, a variety of municipal bond Indices, and relevant Economic Indicators.
Options Industry Council (OIC) Includes guides to all aspects of futures and options as well as quotes, volume data, links to SEC filings and contract adjustments and product specifications.
pinksheets.com -- OTC information Serves as the central resource for trading information on OTC stocks. Includes real time quotations.
RiskGrades Enables users to check the risk values of one stock or a portfolio. "What-if scenarios let you see whether... [certain trades] would improve your risk/return and diversification profile". (Forbes Web Review).
SiliconInvestor Allows users to find daily historical quotes. Enter a company name or symbol at the first screen. Current information will appear but there are more information choices listed above - one of those is historical prices. Some of these quotes go as far back as 1968. Check the Market Tools to be linked to a Market Monitor, Bond Market Snapshot, Up/Downgrades, IPOs and Movers & Shakers.
TreasuryDirect Provides information on T-bills, notes and bonds including how to buy them online. Includes information on interest rates & expenses, STRIPS, security liquidations and current and historical public debt statistics. From the Bureau of Public Debt, U.S. Department of the Treasury.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |