|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on EconomicsThis Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in economics plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. |
||||
|
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for economics is HB 1 through HB 3840.
Indexes to Articles |
ABI/Inform Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research. Includes information on 60,000 companies. Coverage: 1986 - present. A Proquest database.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Business Source Complete Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Econlit Indexes journals, books, and dissertations, covering both economic theory and application. Includes fulltext of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1969.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Factiva Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data from several thousand sources covering virtually every subject category. Note: Factiva only supports Internet Explorer version 5.01 or higher. Factiva also now uses SSL so you will see a "certificate" message when accessing from off-campus. Simply click the YES button.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
ScienceDirect Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Reference Works |
STAT-USA Contains fulltext data from business, economic, and trade information available on the Web. Includes information gathered from more than fifty Federal agencies, files from the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB), the Economic Bulletin Board,and hundreds of other U.S. economic and business files. It is a very current source of economic information, such as exchange rates from "Daily Economic News" and articles from the Survey of Current Business.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Web Resources - Data & Statistics |
Beige Book - Federal Reserve Board Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis.
Bureau of Economic Analysis Provides estimates that illuminate key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (US) Data Page Contains US. federal government data in the broad field of labor economics. It derives its data from voluntary responses to surveys of businesses and households conducted by BLS staff, by the Bureau of the Census (on a contract basis), or in conjunction with state and federal agencies. Data series are available in machine-readable form directly from BLS. The BLS web site includes Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey, Nonfarm Payroll Statistics from the Current Employment Statistics, National Employment, Hours, and Earnings, State and Area Employment, Hours, and Earnings, Local Area Unemployment Statistics, Geographic Profile, Consumer Price Index, Department Store Inventory Price Index, Producer Price Index, International Price Index, Special Export Comparison Index, Compensation & Working Conditions, Developments in Labor-Management Relations, Collective Bargaining Agreements, Work Stoppage Data, Employee Benefits Survey, Employment Cost Index, Safety and Health Statistics, Occupational Injury and Illness Rates (1987 SIC Codes), Quarterly Labor Productivity, Industry Labor Productivity Index, Federal Government Productivity Index, International Labor Statistics. Also includes "Economy at a Glance," news releases, and more. There is also a direct link to the time series gopher site.
Econ Data & Links Contains links to economic data. Especially good for data from People's Republic of China. Site maintained by Dr. John A. Shaw, Professor Emeritus of Economics, California State University, Fresno.
Economagic: Economic Time Series Page Provides free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular, economic forecasting.
Economic Census Contains data from the Economic Census, which profiles the US economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Links to data and reports for specific sectors. Published by the US Census Bureau.
Economic Report of the President Provides copies of the report from 1995 through the present. Also includes a searchable index of reports from 1996 to present.
Economics Data Sets Provides a long list of economics-related data sets freely available on the Internet. Published by SUNY-Oswego.
Fairmodel Brings the power of large scale macroeconometric analysis to anyone with access to the internet. It is a resource for business forecasters, government policy analysts, macroeconomic researchers, teachers, and students.
National Bureau of Economic Research Disseminates unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community. The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization.
Nationmaster.com International economic indicators by country or region. Other statistical information e.g. crime, education and taxes also included. Keywords, statistics, economic indicators, international, exports, imports.
Resources for Economists on the Internet Serves as a portal to many economics pages. Provided by the American Economic Association.
State of the Region Provides economic statistics and forecasts for the Hampton Roads region of Virginia as part of the Old Dominion University Economic Forcasting Project.
Web Resources - Scholarly Work |
Economics Department, College of Business and Public Administration, Old Dominion University Links to the department's home page, which has information about economics degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
IMF Working Papers in Full Text Provides the full text of many different types of reports from the International Monetary Fund.
Knowlege@Wharton Contains articles from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania. Requires free registration. Also has Web links.
Munich Personal RePEc Archive Distributes working papers in economics. Provided by the University Library at the University of Munich.
OAIster Provides a collection of freely-available, difficult-to-access academically-oriented digital resources (articles, theses, dissertations, etc.) from the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Contains reports, news releases and data for the OECD's member countries.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Electronic Library Disseminates social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
World Bank Group Contains reports, news releases, data and educational materials from the World Bank.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |