|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Public AdministrationThis Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in public administration plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. |
||||
|
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for works concerning the administrative aspects of government is JF 1321 through JF 2112.
Indexes to Articles |
ABI/Inform Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research. Includes information on 60,000 companies. Coverage: 1986 - present. A Proquest database.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Academic Search Complete Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Factiva Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data from several thousand sources covering virtually every subject category. Note: Factiva only supports Internet Explorer version 5.01 or higher. Factiva also now uses SSL so you will see a "certificate" message when accessing from off-campus. Simply click the YES button. Coverage: 1980 - present. A Dow Jones / Reuters database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
ScienceDirect Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Includes 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 4,300 articles on such subjects as anthropology, economic development, economics, education, planning theory, policy analysis, political science, public administration, sociology and urban policy.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Reference Works |
Government Information Resources at Perry Library Provides many useful links to international, national, state, and local government information sources on the web.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Web Resources |
American Society for Public Administration Links to ASPA, the largest and most prominent professional association in public administration.
Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management Links to the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM), which "aspires to be the leading professional organization dedicated to blending the talents of researchers, educators and practitioners in the production, dissemination and application of analysis bearing on public concerns."
Department of Urban Studies and Public Administration, College of Business and Public Administration, Old Dominion University Links to the department's home page, which has information about public administration degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
GovSpot Links to GovSpot.com, a non-partisan government information portal designed to simplify the search for the best and most relevant government information online. This free resource offers a high-utility collection of top government and civic resources.
Hampton Roads ASPA Chapter Links to the Hampton Roads Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration, which serves the sixteen counties and cities of Southeastern Virginia - from Colonial Williamsburg to Virginia Beach. Every other month starting in September of each year offers general membership luncheon meetings and special programs. Members are invited to network with fellow public administrators and listen to and interact with dynamic speakers on the most current topics in public administration.
International City/County Management Association Links to ICMA, "the professional and educational organization for chief appointed managers, administrators, and assistants in cities, towns, counties, and regional entities throughout the world."
National Academy of Public Administration Links to the National Academy of Public Administration, an "oganization dedicated to improving the performance of governance systems-the network of public institutions, nonprofit organizations, and private companies that now share in the implementation of public policy."
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Links to OMB documents. Contains segments for budget information, legislative information, grants and financial management, management reform, procurement and information and regulatory policy.
Public Administration and Management: An Interactive Journal Links to "the First Peer-Reviewed Journal on the Internet Devoted to the Fields of Public Administration & Management."
Virginia Coalition for Open Government Provides information about and links to Virginia government agencies and documents. Includes links to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Virginia codes, and many agencies and departments. Also includes links related to federal FOIA topics. The Coalition is a "non-profit, non-partisan partnership working for easy access to public records and open meetings."
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |