|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Criminal Justice
|
||||
|
Quick Start - Try These First |
Criminal Justice Abstracts Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Contains abstracts of publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials. Many have links to full text.
PsycINFO Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts journal articles from over 1,700 serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Articles Using Databases |
Academic Search Complete Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Anthropological Index Online Indexes the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library). Contains citations to cross cultural studies on violence, crime and drug use.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
ASSIA: Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Contemporary Women's Issues Contains full text articles and other material from journals, books, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies on women in over 150 countries. Covers such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. Coverage: 1968 - present.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Legal Collection Provides scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, covering legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Contains abstracts of more than 180,000 publications, reports, articles and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts and training materials. Many have links to full text.
Psychology and Behaviorial Sciences Collection Provides full text publications, including peer-reviewed journals, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
PsycINFO Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts journal articles from over 1,700 serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for criminal justice is HV 6001-9920. This classification includes material on criminology; crime and offenses; criminal justice; police; prisons; punishment and reform; and juvenile delinquency. Browsing in this area may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.
WorldCat Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Reference Resources |
Blackwell Companion to Criminology Includes bibliographical references and index. Available in Perry Library REF HV6025 .B544 2004
CQ Electronic Library Provides fulltext access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice Four volumes covering: 1. Abortion to Cruel & unusual punishment -- 2. Delinquent & criminal subcultures to Juvenile justice: Institutions -- 3. Juvenile justice: Juvenile court to Rural crime -- 4. Schools & crime to Wiretapping & eavesdropping. Available in Perry Library REF HV6017 .E52 2002
Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime Fighting Over 400 entries cover everything from software pirates to airport security, cell phone fraud, identity theft, and designers drugs. Other topics are traditional crime and high-tech tools, satellite surveillance, computer viruses, and chemical and biological weapons. Available in Perry Library REF HV6773.N48 2004
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement Three volumes covering: 1. State and local law enforcement, 2. Federal law enforcement, 3. International law enforcement Available in Perry Library REF HV7921 .E53 2005
West's Encyclopedia of American Law A comprehensive overview of American law in 13-volumes covering historical and current terms, concepts, events, movements, cases, and persons significant to U.S law. Available in Perry Library REF KF154 .W47 2005.
Web Resources |
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Includes information on death penalty, drug policies, racial equality and police practices.
Death Penalty - Amnesty International Contains statistics, fact sheets, news releases, cases, Amnesty International reports, and links to state, national and general sites related to the death penalty.
Death Penalty Information Center Contains facts, reports, news, public opinion and speeches on issues concerning capital punishment. Also includes links to related web sites.
Innocence Project The Innocence Project at the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law was created by Barry C. Scheck and Peter J. Neufeld in 1992. It was set up as and remains a non-profit legal clinic. This Project only handles cases where postconviction DNA testing of evidence can yield conclusive proof of innocence.
Juvenile Justice Committee (American Bar Association) From the ABA Criminal Justice Center, this site tracks federal and state policies and offers juvenile justice standards as well as articles on juvenile justice issues.
Terrorism Research Center Provides a wealth of information related to terrorism, information warfare and security, critical infrastructure protection and other issues of low-intensity political violence. The TRC maintains a network of terrorism and information warfare specialists drawn from industry, government and academia in the United States, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Argentina, India, the Middle East, France and Australia.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime Assists member states against drugs, crime and terrorism. Provides statistics and analysis on crimes around the world and makes policy recommendations.
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Provides planning and support services for the criminal justice system to promote public safety in the Commonwealth.
Web Resources - Statistics |
Bureau of Justice Statistics Provides statistics and full text reports on crime, victims, offenders, law enforcement, courts and corrections.
Crime in Virginia Provides state, county and city crime statistics as part of the Unifrom Crime Reporting Program. Includes violent and property crimes, hate crimes and arrests, as well as statistics on law enforcement employment and officers killed and assaulted.
Criminal Victimization Presents national levels and rates of personal and property victimization by victim characteristics, type of crime, victim-offender relationship, use of weapons and reporting to police.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Contains computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Contains data from more than 100 sources, displayed in over 600 tables, about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
Uniform Crime Reports Provides national, state and individual agency crime statistics collected from nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. Includes crime rates, hate crimes and arrests, as well as statistics on law enforcement employment and officers killed and assaulted.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |