|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Sociology
|
||||
|
Quick Start - Try These First |
Social Services Abstracts Abstracts current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts journal articles from over 1,700 serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - present. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Web of Science Provides access to the online version of Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Find Articles Using Databases |
Academic Search Complete Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Alternative Press Index Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Science Direct Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Search or browse journals in the social science subject area.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Social Services Abstracts Abstracts current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Sociological Abstracts Abstracts journal articles from over 1,700 serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - present. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for social sciences is H. Sections relevant to sociology include:
GN Anthropology H Social Sciences (general) and business HA Statistics HM Sociology (general and theoretical) HN Social history; social problems; social reform HQ Social Groups (including the family; sexual life; women; children) HT Communities; social classes; races; urban sociology HV Social and public welfare; criminology
Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable materials in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.
WorldCat Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th Century.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Reference Resources |
CQ Electronic Library Provides fulltext access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Green Book Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics including poverty, families with children, child support and the elderly. Chapters of the new 2008 Green Book are released on the House Committee on Ways and Means website as they become available.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
Web Resources |
National Network of State Polls Hosted by The Odum Institute at UNC Chapel Hill, this database contains individual survey questions as well as complete surveys from various groups dating back to the 1960's.
Population and Development Program (Cornell University) Facilitates research on population dynamics. Maintains a Population Library that gives faculty and students access to a wide range of population materials.
SocioSite: Famous Sociologists Contains biographies, bibliographies about and by, principle theories and published works of a large number of sociologists. Also includes references and links to other sociology and social sciences websites. Maintained by the University of Amsterdam.
Web Resources - Data & Statistics |
American Factfinder Contains population, housing, economic and geographic data for the United States, states, counties, cities, towns, and American Indian reservations. From the U. S. Census Bureau.
Association for Population/Family Planning (APLIC-I) Provides a global network of communication, information, and resource professionals dedicated to providing assistance and support to members and to other population and reproductive health colleagues, especially in developing nations.
Historical Census Browser Presents data that describes the population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, dating back to 1962.
NationMaster.com Provides worldwide statistics from a wide variety of sources including CIA World Factbook, the United Nations, the World Bank, and OECD in various fields and country comparisons with capabilities to create graphs, charts, and maps.
Population Reference Bureau Provides quick access to essential information on population, health, and the environment for over 200 countries.
Social Indicators Contains global statistics covering a wide range of subject-matter fields, including population, education, literacy, housing, income, employment, health, child-bearing and water supply and sanitation.
Statistical Resources on the Web: Sociology Provides links to numerous statistical resources on a wide range of subject matter, including best places to live, ethnicity, families, humanitarian aid, poverty and sexual behavior.
United Nations Population Information Netwok (POPIN) Provides a guide to population information on UN system web sites.
VASTAT: Virginia Statistics Contains a wide variey of statistical data on Virginia from the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service at the University of Virginia.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |