Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Geology

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in Geology plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in oceanography, biology, and chemistry. For additional web resources, try a Google search with appropriate keywords for your specific needs.
    This guide maintained by: Edward Wladas Science Reference Librarian last updated: January 15, 2009

    Indexes to Articles

    Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
    Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
    GEOBASE
    Covers worldwide research literature in physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines.
    GeoRef
    Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world, including over 2.2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. NO FULLTEXT. Coverage: 1933 - present. A Cambridge database.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Oceanic Abstracts
    Abstracts material from the worldwide technical literature pertaining to marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. NO FULLTEXT. Coverage: 1981 - present. A Cambridge database.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    ScienceDirect
    Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.

    Reference Works

    A Dictionary of Earth Sciences
    Oxford's fully up-to-date Dictionary of Earth Sciences is authoritative and wide-ranging with coverage of topics including climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, and volcanology.
    A Dictionary of Geography
    This dictionary provides coverage of the terms used in both human and physical geography. There are over 6,300 definitions across the following fields: cartography, surveying, remote sensing, statistics, meteorology, climatology, biogeography, ecology, simple geology, soils, geomorphology, population, migration, settlement, agriculture, industry, transport, development, and diffusion.
    Geotechnical engineering investigation handbook
    Provides a comprehensive guide to the elements of geotechnical engineering from the viewpoint of investigating and defining the geologic environment for the purpose of providing criteria for the design of engineering works.
    The Oxford Companion to the Earth
    The Oxford Companion to the Earth is a unique reference work, offering unrivalled coverage of the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are covered.

    Web Resources - Data

    Discover Our Earth
    Contains a wide range of information related to the Earth scienes, accompanied by images, graphs, maps, and movies, and interactive mapping tools (under web tools).
    GEODE—USGS Geo-Data Explorer
    Allows users to access, view, and download information from geo-spatial databases containing a broad spectrum of data produced by the USGS and other government agencies.
    Geologic Guidebooks of North America
    Contains the information in the print publication, Union List of Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of North America. Typically, a guidebook contains descriptions of the geological features along an itinerary, and is thus a resource for local geology. The database can be searched using locality terms or stratigraphic terms, the year a field trip was held, etc. Since most field trip guidebooks are not available through bookstores and not widely distributed, the database names at least one library which has each guidebook, for use in requesting a copy or an interlibrary loan.
    Mineralogy Database
    Contains properties for over 4000 individual mineral species, with descriptions and links to additional information.
    National Climatic Data Center
    NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data, and has an extensive site on paleoclimatology including a wide range of solar, geophysical, environmental, and human dimensions data, and the only World Data Center devoted to paleoclimatic data.
    National Directory of Geoscience Data Repositories
    Provides the report of a survey conducted by the American Geological Institute. For each state, there is a list of repositories holding public and private geoscience data, particularly cores, cuttings, and paper records.
    National Earthquake Information Center
    Provides a listing of current earthquake activity; a map view of earthquake activity in the last 7 days; and ftp access to more earthquake data. The mission of the National Earthquake Information Center (NEIC) is to rapidly determine location and size of all destructive earthquakes worldwide and to immediately disseminate this information to concerned national and international agencies, scientists, and the general public.
    National Geophysical Data Center
    Includes various kinds of geophysical data. Terrestrial data includes aeromagnetic, heatflow, gravity, seismicity, etc. There are also upper atmosphere, space and solar datasets.
    PetDB: Petrological Database of the Ocean Floor
    Serves and archives geochemical and petrological sample-based data gathered from the ocean floor. Users can download precompiled datasets or extract any subset of the data holdings customized to a specific question. Search by location, rock type, author, cruise, or other criteria.
    Water Resources: Data
    Contains a wide variety of data from the United States Geological Survey, including: Real-time Water Data, the National Water Information System, Water Quality Monitoring Network, Suspended-Sediment Database, the Hydro-Climatic Data Network, GIS for Water Resources, Water Use Maps, and more.

    Web Resources - General

    Atlas of Igneous and Metamorphic Rocks, Minerals and Textures
    Provides thin section images of some 40 minerals, as well as separately organized images of the microtextures of plutonic, volcanic, and metamorphic rocks.
    Chesapeake Bay Activities
    Describes the many activities of the United States Geological Survey in their studies of the atmosphere, biology, geology, ground water, stream flow, weather, water quality, land use and population characteristics of the Chesapeake Bay region.
    Earth Science World ImageBank
    Contains more than 6000 earth science images. ImageBank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community. Search or browse from categories such as Dunes, General Geology, Glaciers, Oceans, Paleontology, or Weather.
    Geology Home Page
    Contains a wealth of information about activities of the United States Geological Survey in the areas of mineral and energy resources, geologic hazards, geologic mapping, earth surface dynamics, and coastal and marine geology. Includes issues and projects, links, contact information, and spatial data.
    Global Volcanism Program
    Contains Smithsonian sponsored webpages on the history and ongoing volcano activities around the world: reports, interactive maps, data sets, and earthquake updates are all freely available.
    Guide to Geoscience Careers and Employers
    Presents information on choosing, maintaining, and advancing a career specifically in the geosciences, and provides useful employer information that students need in order to find geoscience employment.
    Guide to Geoscience Departments
    Contains listings of colleges and universities that offer programs in the geosciences. It is the online version of the American Geological Institute print directory.
    Illustrated Glossary of Geologic Terms
    Provides an online glossary based on the glossary in Earth: An Introduction to Geologic Change (1995) by Judson and Richardson. Some definitions contain links to images.
    Mindat
    Mindat.org is the largest minearl database and mineralogical reference website on the internet. This site contains worldwide data on minerals, mineral collecting, mineral localities and other mineralogical information.
    National Geologic Map Database
    Contains a geoscience map catalog listing over 70,000 maps; a geologic map image library with more than 2000 maps accessible online; and a link to GEOLEX, the online, searchable version of the Lexicon of Geologic Names.
    Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences Department, College of Sciences, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about the geology degree, courses, faculty, and more.
    OSTI e-Prints
    Facilitates access to and use of scientific and technical e-prints on a wide range of research activities of interest to the Department of Energy.
    Science.gov - Earth & Ocean Sciences
    Provides links to government-sponsored websites on a wide variety of topics in earth and ocean sciences.
    Soil Taxonomy
    Contains the taxonomic classification of each soil series identified in the United States, from the National Resources Conservation Service. There are photographs and distribution maps of the main soil orders.
    USGS Publications Warehouse
    Contains reports from many USGS series including Professional Papers, Open-File Reports and Water Resources Investigations. A number of biological report citations, primarily historical research reports, are also included.