Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Engineering

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in engineering plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. Look on the Library's Databases page for many valuable scholarly databases in engineering. For more web resources, try a Google search with appropriate keywords for your specific needs.
    This guide maintained by: Edward Wladas Science Reference Librarian last updated: January 21, 2009

    Indexes to Articles

    Compendex
    Abstracts articles from approximately 4,500 journals, selected government reports and books on engineering. The electronic version of Engineering Index, it is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. NO FULL TEXT.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    IEEE Xplore
    Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    INSPEC
    Abstracts international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books from the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. NO FULL TEXT.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    ScienceDirect
    Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in science and engineering disciplines.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Reference Works

    ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
    Provides online access to 314 full-text engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Knovel Library
    Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Web Resources

    Advanced Topics in Aerodynamics
    Links to online information in aerodynamics, aeronautics and propulsion systems. This site is individually maintained.
    Aerospaceweb.org
    Provides information on aerospace-related fields, including aircraft design, spacecraft design, aerodynamics, and aerospace history. Site is sponsored by a non-profit group of engineers from the aviation and space industries.
    Association for Women in Computing
    Links provide information related to the advancement of women in the technology fields. WEBSITE UNAVAILABLE AS OF JANUARY 21, 2009. CHECK BACK LATER TO SEE WHEN SITE WILL BE AVAILABLE.
    ASTM International - Standards Search
    Provides a search mechanism for active and historical (including superceded) standards issued by ASTM International. For any standard not in Perry Library's collections, read the scope of the standard online and order the entire standard using your credit card.
    Basics of Space Flight
    Provides a training module designed primarily to help JPL operations people identify the range of concepts associated with deep space missions and grasp the relationships these concepts exhibit for space flight. Site created by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory.
    Bridgepros
    Provides information on types and history of bridges, world record bridges, state bridge inventories, and company bridge projects and news. A commercial site.
    Coastal Inlets Research Program
    Provides photographs, datasets and more on U.S. inlets, navigation channels, navigation structures, and beaches. The site is maintained by the Coastal Inlets Research Program of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.
    Construction WebLinks
    Current construction industry resouces, links, business news, jobs, meetings, and other information related to construction. Site sponsored by Thelen Reid and Priest LLP.
    Electrical Engineering Circuits Archive
    Offers a collection of circuit designs for use by engineering students and professionals. This site sponsored by the Electrical Engineering Department, University of Washington.
    Frank Batten College of Engineering and Technology, Old Dominion University
    Links to the college's home page, which includes each of the College's engineering disciplines, their degree programs, courses, faculty, and more.
    Intute - Engineering Section
    Provides links in Engineering, Mathematics and Computing. Intute is maintained by a team of information specialists from a number of universities and institutions in the UK.
    Matweb
    Consists of “a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials".
    National Ocean Service
    Provides a broad array of links related to coastal engineering and oceanography, including port information, port water levels, tides, aerial shoreline photography, and much more. A National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration site.
    NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
    Provides technical information from NASA, including research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents, and preliminary data. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. These external sites include the Aeronautical Research Council (UK), the arXiv Physics e-Print Server, Biomed Central and the Energy Citation Database.
    OSTI e-Prints
    Facilitates access to and use of scientific and technical e-prints on a wide range of research activities of interest to the Department of Energy.