Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Oceanography

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in Oceanography plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in oceanography, biology, and chemistry. For additional web resources, try a Google search with appropriate keywords for your specific needs.
    This guide maintained by: Edward Wladas Science Reference Librarian last updated: January 15, 2009

    Indexes to Articles

    Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries
    Abstracts 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature on the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms. Coverage: 1978 - present. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts service.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Oceanic Abstracts
    Abstracts material from the worldwide technical literature pertaining to marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Coverage: 1981 - present. A Cambridge Scientific Abstracts service.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    ScienceDirect
    Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well. Coverage varies by journal. An Elsevier Science database.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Web Resources

    AquaNIC: Aquaculture Network Information Center
    Provides links to state, national, and international aquaculture publications, newsletters, visual media, and specialty sections for species and production systems.
    Bibliography of Chesapeake Bay Grey Literature
    Contains more than 94,000 pages of full-text documents published by the Virginia Insitute of Marine Science; the Carter Library of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources (MDNR) and the Chesapeake Research Consortium. Also included are citations to publications on the science of the Chesapeake from the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory and the Chesapeake Bay Institute.
    Census of Marine Life
    Reports on the work of “a growing global network of researchers in more than 70 nations, engaged in a ten-year initiative to assess and explain the diversity, distribution, and abundance of life in the ocean and explain how it changes over time”. Extensive project descriptions and monthly news updates.
    Chesapeake World
    Provides a wealth of links related to the Chesapeake Bay and its surrounding states; includes research, data, maps, public documents, and other information related to the bay. This site is individually maintained.
    Earth Science World ImageBank
    Contains more than 6000 earth science images. ImageBank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community. Search or browse from categories such as Dunes, General Geology, Glaciers, Oceans, Paleontology, or Weather.
    Eurekalert! Marine Science Portal
    Contains links and an image gallery, but this portal from AAAS may be most useful for its “Press Release” section which recounts the latest marine science findings as reported in conferences, journal articles and funding agency news.
    Fishbase
    Contains data and links on fish species, including interactive information, mapping, articles, images, family and species, country, and ecosystems. This extensive global database on fishes was developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners.
    Fisheries Global Information System (FIGIS)
    Contains data on marine resources, aquatic species, fisheries, fishing areas, fishing technology, and related information. The site is maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and has a global perspective.
    Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center (US Navy)
    Provides up to date atmospheric and oceanographic data such as wave height and direction world wide, from the U.S. Navy.
    Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
    Provides an ongoing digital collection from the University of Washington Libraries of images related to freshwater and marine topics, including images of fish, shellfish, marine mammals, fish hatcheries, dams, vessels, and more. Search the database by subject, original caption, geographic location of image, or use one of the constructed searches included in this site.
    National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science (NCCOS)
    Centralizes all of NOAA’s coastal research centers on one website. Well-organized information about coastal ecosystems and stressors to those systems.
    National Ocean Service
    Provides a broad array of links related to coastal engineering and oceanography, including port information, port water levels, tides, aerial shoreline photography, and much more. A National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration site.
    National Oceanographic Data Center
    Provides in situ and remotely sensed physical, chemical, and biological oceanographic data from coastal and deep ocean areas. Includes datasets and mapping from a wide variety of oceanographic research projects. The site is provided by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's National Oceanographic Data Center.
    National Sea Grant Library
    Contains the most comprehensive collection of Sea Grant funded documents in the world, many available as full-text pdf documents. Subjects covered include oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law.
    NOAA Paleoclimatology
    Contains basic information about the clues to paleoclimate provided by natural "proxy" sources such as tree rings, ice cores, corals, and ocean and lake sediments. Also has slide sets, a paleoclimate time line, and searchable data sets.
    Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences Department, College of Sciences, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about oceanography degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
    Oceanography Links (BUBL)
    Provides links to current significant sites on oceanography and marine sciences. This catalog of selected Internet resources from the United Kingdom provides sites that have been evaluated, catalogued and described. Links are checked and fixed each month.
    Office of Wetlands, Oceans, and Watersheds (OWOW)
    Provides information, databases and data sets on the water quality of oceans, coasts, estuaries, rivers, streams, lakes, wetlands and watersheds.
    PetDB: Petrological Database of the Ocean Floor
    Serves and archives geochemical and petrological sample-based data gathered from the ocean floor. Users can download precompiled datasets or extract any subset of the data holdings customized to a specific question. Search by location, rock type, author, cruise, or other criteria.
    ReefBase
    Provides data and information on the location, status, threats, monitoring, legislation, and management of coral reefs in 131 countries; extensive data on coral bleaching; an online reef mapping system; and an extensive bibliography of nearly 25,000 reef-related references.
    Science.gov - Earth & Ocean Sciences
    Provides links to government-sponsored websites on a wide variety of topics in earth and ocean sciences.
    Science.gov - Environment and Environmental Quality
    Provides links to government-sponsored websites on a wide variety of topics in environment and environmental quality.
    Scripps Institute of Oceanography Oceanographic Collections
    Provides Scripps Institute of Oceanography data on fish specimens, zooplankton samples, cored segments, geophysical data and related research areas.
    USGS Chesapeake Bay Activities
    Provides information on the Chesapeake Bay watershed, water quality, ecosystem, etc. A U.S. Geological Survey site.
    USGS Publications Warehouse
    Contains reports from many USGS series including Professional Papers, Open-File Reports and Water Resources Investigations. A number of biological report citations, primarily historical research reports, are also included.
    Water Resources of Virginia
    Provides data and publications on Virginia's water resources and status. A U.S. Geological Survey site.