Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Chemistry

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in Chemistry plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites. Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in oceanography, biology, and chemistry. For additional web resources, try a Google search with appropriate keywords for your specific needs.
    This guide maintained by: Edward Wladas Science Reference Librarian last updated: January 15, 2009

    Indexes to Articles

    ACS Journals
    Allows full-text searching of all titles published by the ACS (American Chemical Society), with access to over 500,000 articles.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    ScienceDirect
    Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    SciFinder Scholar
    Serves as the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts, and like the print version it indexes the chemical literature all the way back to 1907. SciFinder Scholar requires client software for either MS Windows or Apple Macintosh. This software provides a non-browser interface (in other words, you will be online but not using Internet Explorer, Netscape, AOL, etc.). With it you can access the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLIST. You can search for substances using their names, molecular formulas or registration numbers, or by drawing their structures.
    ODU ON-CAMPUS COMPUTERS ONLY. ONE USER AT A TIME. PLEASE LOG OFF WHEN YOU ARE FINISHED.
    SPIN Database
    Abstracts articles from over 80 scientific journals and proceedings, including those of the American Institute of Physics and its ten Member Societies. Links to full-text articles are provided for all of the AIP journals to which Perry Library subscribes online. These include the Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data and Journal of Chemical Physics.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Reference Works

    CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    Continues to be the most accurate, reliable, and current resource available for data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Guidelines for Preparing a Research Report
    Provides an introduction to the essentials of preparing a chemistry research paper, but doesn't replace the ACS Style Guide (Reference QD8.5.A25 2006).
    Knovel Library
    Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Web Resources - Data

    ATHAS Data Bank
    Provides extensive tables of properties for 200 linear macromolecules and small molecules.
    CAS Science Spotlight
    Reveals the most highly cited and requested chemistry-related research publications . . . [and] also the bibliographic and abstract information along with the full text, where available.
    ChemBioFinder
    Provides an extensive searchable database of chemical facts and online information.
    ChemID Plus
    Provides access to chemical structures and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine databases. To search for structures, you can use the Chime plug-in (which you can download from a link on the ChemID Plus site) or ChemSymphony, a set of Java applets.
    ChemInfo SIRCh: Physical Property Information
    Provides links to Web sources for elements and periodic tables, biochemical data, physical property compilations, scientific constants, property and conversion calculators, and miscellaneous physical property data.
    Critical Properties of Gases
    Provides mole weight, critical pressure and critical temperatures for many organic and inorganic gases.
    Dielectric Constants Chart
    Provides the dielectric constant for a great variety of substances. For materials with variable compositions such as polymers or mineral, a range of values is given.
    Matweb
    Consists of “a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials”.
    Mineralogy Database
    Contains properties for over 4000 individual mineral species, with descriptions and links to additional information.
    NIST Virtual Library - Chemistry
    Contains links to several freely accessible databases from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (including NIST Chemistry WebBook for general and physical property searches); as well as links to sources for material safety data sheets, periodic and nuclide tables, and chemical societies and associations.
    Protein Data Bank
    Contains the single international repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D macromolecular structure data primarily determined experimentally by X-ray crystallography and NMR. Site sponsored by Rutgers University, UC San Diego and others.
    ThermoDex
    Contains "records for printed handbooks and compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. You can select one or more compound types and link them to one or more property terms, and ThermoDex will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data." This list is linked to print materials in the University of Texas Chemistry Library, but you can check to see whether ODU owns the same materials by doing a title search in the ODU library catalog.
    TOXNET
    Contains a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas." Retrieve data from the Hazardous Substances Data Bank, EPA's Integrated Risk Information System, the Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, or EPA's GENETOX. Find citations to toxicology literature on TOXLINE, the Environmental Mutagen Information Center, or the Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center.
    Water Resources of the United States
    Contains a wide variety of data, including: Real-time Water Data, the National Water Information System, Water Quality Monitoring Network, Suspended-Sediment Database, the Hydro-Climatic Data Network, GIS for Water Resources, Water Use Maps, and more. A U.S. Geological Survey site.
    WebElements
    Provides a complete guide to the periodic table.

    Web Resources - General

    Academic Info: Chemistry
    Links to chemistry subject directories; online reference works; resources in chemistry education, organic and general chemistry; and chemical databases.
    Chemistry and Biochemistry Department, College of Sciences, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about chemistry and biochemistry degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
    Chemistry Journals Links
    Contains "one of the world's most comprehensive and up-to-date lists of internet-linked chemistry-related journals." Links often allow you to browse current and previous tables of contents; sometimes allow searching, and occasionally provide full text of articles. This site is produced by the Cambridge University Chemical Laboratory.
    ChemWeb
    Includes access to publications, databases like Beilstein Abstracts, and more. First time users must register (free).
    NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
    Provides technical information from NASA, including research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents, and preliminary data. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. These external sites include the Aeronautical Research Council (UK), the arXiv Physics e-Print Server, Biomed Central and the Energy Citation Database.
    Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
    Provides a well-organized set of links to information for synthetic organic chemistry researchers. Includes links to online journals and databases, experimental topics, analytical techniques, and career planning.
    Organometallic Hypertextbook
    Links to a reference "meant for students who are starting out in the area of Organometallic Chemistry as well as those who wish to review and interrelate concepts for their class, orals exams or placement tests." The power of this resource lies in its use of hypertextual information.
    OSTI e-Prints
    Facilitates access to and use of scientific and technical e-prints on a wide range of research activities of interest to the Department of Energy.
    Science.gov - Math, Physics and Chemistry
    Provides links to government-sponsored websites on a wide variety of topics in math, physics and chemistry.
    Selected Classic Papers from the History of Chemistry
    Contains a full-text collection of more than 100 papers in the history of chemistry, arranged into eleven categories. ”Many are seminal papers in their fields. Some are interesting curiosities.” Foreign-language papers have been translated into English. Many papers are linked to biographical information and/or portraits of the authors.