|
|
This electronic book, The Arabidopsis Book (TAB), (ISSN: 1543-8120), is an attempt at a new mode of communication between researchers and a new model for scientific publishing. TAB in its initial stage is a compilation of over 100 invited chapters, each reviewing in detail an important and interesting aspect of the plant Arabidopsis thaliana, with reference to what is known in other plants and in other kingdoms. The project is sponsored by the American Society of Plant Biologists.
|
|
|
Links to the department's home page, which has information about biology degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
|
|
|
Provides links and bibliographic information on sources in botanical and horticultural information. Site sponsored by University of Maryland's Norton-Brown Herbarium.
|
|
|
Provides lists of threatened and endangered species as well as additional species and legislative information. A U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service site.
|
|
|
Provides work-in-progress text of the 27 voume publication of the Oxford University Press of the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico. The database, housed at the Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, MO, includes extensive descriptions of the history and development of this massive project.
|
|
|
Providess information about germplasm programs and databases for plants, animals, microbes and invertebrates. A U.S. Department of Agriculture site.
|
|
|
Provides authoritative taxonomic nomenclature, hierarchy, references, and other information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. This site was created by a partnership of U.S. agencies.
|
|
|
Provides data on molecular biology, computational biology, genome data, and biomedical information. Site sponsored by the National Library of Medicine's National Center for Biotechnology.
|
|
|
Provides data and mapping on U.S. wetlands and wetland plants. A U.S. Fish & Wildlife site.
|
|
|
Provides data on ecosystems, conservation, and endangered species. Site is sponsored by the nonprofit organization, NatureServe.
|
|
|
This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders Authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, the database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. The database contains textual information, references, and links to MEDLINE, sequence records in the Entrez system, and to related resources at the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
|
|
|
Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates. Coverage spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography). The site is a collaborative project of the Wisconsin and Washington Primate Research Centers.
|
|
|
Contains the single international repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D macromolecular structure data primarily determined experimentally by X-ray crystallography and NMR. Site sponsored by Rutgers University, UC San Diego and others.
|
|
|
Provides a broad survey of all known protein folds, detailed information about the close relatives of any particular protein, and a framework for future research and classification. The database describes the structural and evolutionary relationships between all proteins whose structure is known, from the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Centre for Protein Engineering.
|
|
|
Contains reports from many USGS series including Professional Papers, Open-File Reports and Water Resources Investigations. A number of biological report citations, primarily historical research reports, are also included.
|
|
|
The long-term goal of the Visible Human Project® from the National Library of Medicine is to produce a system of knowledge structures that will transparently link visual knowledge forms to symbolic knowledge formats such as the names of body parts. The project is in the process of creating complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.
|
|
|
Contains a wide variety of data, including: Real-time Water Data, the National Water Information System, Water Quality Monitoring Network, Suspended-Sediment Database, the Hydro-Climatic Data Network, GIS for Water Resources, Water Use Maps, and more. A U.S. Geological Survey site.
|