Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Literature

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in literature plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites.

    Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in literature. If you need assistance with your search, call the subject librarian (683-4184), the reference desk (683-4178), use the Ask-A-Librarian email form to send a message, or stop by the Reference Desk.
    This guide maintained by: Karen Vaughan Digital Services Coordinator last updated: November 24, 2008

    Quick Start - Try These First

    Literature Resource Center
    Includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources (e.g., Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism) and from books in Twayne's Author Series.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    MLA Bibliography
    Covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage: 1963 - present. An InfoTrac database.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Articles

    Academic Search Complete
    Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Arts and Humanities Citation Search
    Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Coverage: 1975 - present. A Web of Science database.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Essay and General Literature Index
    Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science and history to criticism of literary works, drama and film. Coverage: 1985 - present.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Historical Materials
    C19: The Nineteenth Century Index : Indexes over 1.3 million books and official publications, and 10 million articles published in over 2,000 journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online. Coverage varies by index; includes links to full text. RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Godey's Lady's Book : Contains articles on a wide variety of subjects, intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. The magazine is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture. Also includes fashion descriptions and plates, book reviews, essays and short stories, and sheet music. Coverage:1830 - 1855. RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Victorian Periodicals -- Available at the ODU Libraries : This guide lists 19th century periodicals in the ODU Libraries and various resources for finding them.


    JSTOR
    Includes a collection of full-text articles from over 80 back issues of scholarly journals in various fields (the most recent articles may be 3-5 years old); Coverage varies by journal.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Literature Resource Center
    Includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources (e.g., Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism) and from books in Twayne's Author Series.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    MLA International Bibliography
    Covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage: 1963 - present. An InfoTrac database.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Project Muse
    Provides an Electronic version of humanities journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Books

    ODU Library Catalog
    The Library of Congress classification for general literary history and collections is PN. Works of specific national origin will be found within other classifications, e.g.,

    PA Classical literatures PL Colonies Asian, African literatures
    PQ Romance literatures PR English literature
    PS American literature PT Germanic literatures

    Browsing in these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.
    WorldCat
    Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes records of manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Full Text Collections

    Academy of American Poets
    Provides an excellent contemporary poetry site with biographies, full-text, and some audio.
    African-American Poetry Database
    Includes Full-text of approximately 2,500 African-American poems from 1760-1900.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Alex: Catalogue of Electronic Texts on the Internet
    Includes a collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.
    American Poetry Database
    Contains over 40,000 poems from the Colonial period to the early 20th Century.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Bartleby Great Books Online
    Includes literary, historical and reference works online.
    British Poetry, 1780-1910
    Includes Full-text of Romantic and Victorian poetry "for study and classroom use", with links to other British poetry archives.
    Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    "Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War."
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
    Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Electronic Text Center -- University of Virginia
    Includes an online archive of thousands of electronic texts and related images.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WTIH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    English Poetry Database
    Includes Full-text of 4,450 works from the Anglo-Saxon to the end of the 19th century.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    English Verse Drama Database
    Includes Full-text of over 1,500 works from late 13th century to end of the 19th century.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Folklore & Mythology Electronic Texts
    Provides texts arranged alphabetically with several tales per category.
    Internet Classics Archive
    Offers 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation. The Archive is searchable, and includes a list of links to other resources.
    Myths & Legends
    Contains text listed chronologically by region and language group.

    Find Reference Works

    Contemporary Authors
    Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for more than 90,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world. Includes current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
    Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world, including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700. The British Library is making this freely available online for the first time.
    Literary And Rhetorical Terms
    Provides definitions and explanations of words and concepts used in discussing literature and the techniques of good speaking and writing. From the University of Victoria's "The UVic Writer's Guide."
    Literature
    This guide (in .pdf format) lists the top literature reference works available in print at Perry Library.
    Literature Resource Center
    Includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources (e.g., Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism) and from books in Twayne's Author Series.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
    Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)
    Provides "the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War. The project aims to index all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. In addition to providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications." Access is through C19: The Nineteenth Century Index.
    RESTRICTED TO OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF.
    Oxford English Dictionary
    Provides an Electronic version of the 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary.
    RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.

    Find Web Resources

    Department of English, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about english degrees, courses, faculty, and more.
    Edsitement
    Includes a constantly growing collection of the most valuable online resources for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages.
    English Web Resources
    Includes a collection of Internet and electronic materials maintained by University of Virginia.
    EServer
    Previously titled "English Server," links to a collection of Internet resources providing a "public distribution and publication medium for research, criticism, novels, hypertext, and miscellaneous writings from the arts and humanities" now maintained by the Iowa State University.
    Internet Public Library Literature Website
    Includes a reference center, a catalog of books and publications, subject-based collections, and resources for kids and teens.
    Literary Resources on the Net
    Includes a full range of Internet resources organized by period and useful subtopic, such as "Women's Literature & Feminism" and "Ethnicities & Nationalities."
    Voice of the Shuttle
    Includes an comprehensive guide to web resources in the humanities.
    WWW Resources for English and American Literature
    Includes electronic texts and information on English and American literature including a site on creative writing.
    Yahoo's Literature Site
    Provides an extensive listing of web sites relating to literature and authors.