|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Community and Environmental HealthThis Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in community and environmental health plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contain links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments, as well as lead to additional useful sites. |
||||
|
Find Articles Using Databases |
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Provides full text for over 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. Contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY ID NUMBER.
Environmental Science & Pollution Management Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile Allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Health Source - Consumer Edition Contains a rich collection of consumer health information with access to over 80 full text, consumer health magazines,searchable full text for health-related pamphlets,health reference books, Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Lixi-PAL Drug Guide, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Medline Contains over 4 million citations and abstracts which cover a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage: 1993-present. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Safety Science & Risk Abstracts Abstracts the literature from the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational situations. Coverage: 1981-present. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Science Citation Index / Web of Science Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
ScienceDirect Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well. Coverage varies by journal
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Telemedicine Information Exchange (TIE) Searchable databse of articles and other information on telehealth and telemedicine.
Water Resources Abstracts Abstracts the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Coverage: 1967-present. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for medicine is R. Also note:
RA 421-790 Public Health HQ Marriage, Family, Women RC 952-954 Geriatrics HV 5001-5840 Alcoholism, Tobacco Habit, Drug Habit RC 963-969 Industrial Medicine QP Physiology RC 1200-1245 Sports Medicine QR Microbiology RM Physical Medicine, Physical Therapy TD Environmental Technology
Web resources - Global Health |
DHHS - Office of Global Health Promotes the health of the world's population by advancing the Department of Health and Human Services'global strategies and partnerships, thus serving the health of the people of the United States.
European Commission of Public Health Strives to improve public health in the European Union, to prevent human illness and diseases and to obviate sources of danger to human health.
Global Health Reporting.org Provides journalists and others with the latest information on HIV/AIDS, malaria, and tuberculosis.
Pan American Health Organization International public health agency with 100 years of experience in working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas.
World Health Organization The World Health Organization is the United Nations specialized agency for health. It was established on 7 April 1948. WHO's objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health.
Web resources - Government |
Bureau of Labor Statistics The BLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. It produces the Consumer Price Index, Producer Price Index, etc.
CDC Public Health Image Library Contains images that help to communicate public health information. The content is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. To get to the CDC homepage, click on the top logo.
Census Bureau Collects and organizing data about people living in the United States.
Department of Health and Human Services Includes full-text issues of numerous government publications published by the 13 primary agencies including: Centers for Disease Control, National Institutes of Health, Office of Aging, Health Care Financing Administration, and Indian Health.
DHHS - Administration on Aging Designed to provide a comprehensive overview of a wide variety of topics, programs and services related to aging.
DHHS - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Seeks to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans.
DHHS - Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Directed to provide public health assessments of waste sites, health consultations concerning specific hazardous substances, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances.
DHHS - Area Resource File Funded by DHHS, this database contains over 6000 variables for each county in the U.S.
DHHS - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Protects the health and safety of Americans at home and abroad by providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships.
DHHS - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Administers the Medicare program, and works in partnership with the states to administer Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program, and health insurance portability standards.
DHHS - Health Care Cost and Utilization Project Family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership.
DHHS - Health Resources and Service Administration Works on the availability of quality health care to low income, uninsured, isolated, vulnerable and special needs populations.
DHHS - Healthy People 2010 States national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.
DHHS - National Center for Health Statistics The Nation’s principal health statistics agency. Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the people.
DHHS - National Institutes of Health One of the world's foremost medical research centers, and the Federal focal point for medical research in the United States. The goal of NIH research is to acquire new knowledge to help prevent, detect, diagnose, and treat disease and disability.
DHHS - National Library of Medicine
DHHS - Office of the Surgeon General The Surgeon General protects and advances the health of the Nation through educating the public; advocating for effective disease prevention and health promotion programs and activities; and, providing a highly recognized symbol of national commitment to protecting and improving the public's health.
FedStats Links to statistics from over 100 federal agencies.
Government Accountability Office GAO’s mission is to help improve the performance and assure the accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
National Technical Information Service Serves our nation as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
NCBI Bookshelf Provides a growing, searchable collection of biomedical books.
Toxnet Cluster of databases on toxicology, harzardous chemicals, and related areas.
Virginia Department for the Aging The VDA works with 25 local Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) as well as various other public and private organizations to help older Virginians and their families find the services and information they need.
Virginia Department of Health Coordinates all health-related state programs and health research.
Virginia Department of Health Professions The VDHP work to assure the safe and competent delivery of health care to the citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia through the process of examining, licensing and disciplining health care practitioners governed by one of the 13 state health care boards.
Web resources - Organizations, Accrediting |
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care Organizations Sets the standards by which health care quality is measured in America and around the world.
National Committee for Quality Assurance NCQA is an independent, 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to improve health care quality everywhere.
Web resources - Organizations, Professional |
Academy Health AcademyHealth is the professional home for health services researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners, and a leading, non-partisan resource for the best in health research and policy.
American Public Health Association Concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health.
National Environmental Health Association Offers seven national credential programs:Registered Environmental Health Specialist/Registered Sanitarian (REHS/RS), the Certified Environmental Health Technician (CEHT), the Registered Hazardous Substances Professional (RHSP), the Registered Hazardous Substances Specialist (RHSS), the Registered Environmental Technician (RET), the Certified Food Safety Professional (CFSP), the NEHA Radon Proficiency Program).
Society for Public Health Education An independent, international professional association made up of a diverse membership of health education professionals and students, the Society promotes healthy behaviors, healthy communities, and healthy environments through its membership, its network of local chapters, and its numerous partnerships with other organizations.
Web resources - Other |
Center for Studying Health System Change Provides information to health care decision makers about changes in the health care system at both the local and national levels and the effects of such changes on people.
Center for the Health Professions Assists health care professionals, health professions schools, care delivery organizations and public policy makers respond to the challenges of educating and managing a health care workforce capable of improving the health and well being of people and their communities.
Commonwealth Fund A private foundation that supports independent research on health and social issues and makes grants to improve health care practice and policy.
Institute of Medicine Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies is a nonprofit organization that offers science-based advice on matters of biomedical science, medicine, and health.
J. Henry Kaiser Family Foundation A non-profit, private operating foundation that focuses on the major health care issues facing the nation.
Medscape Offers free, continuously updated continuing education activities for physicians and other health professionals and collections of information on clinical content.
National Center for Policy Analysis Develops and promotes private alternatives to government regulation and control in the areas of reforms in health care, taxes, Social Security, welfare, criminal justice, education and environmental regulation.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States by concentrating on 4 areas: quality health care at reasonable cost, care and support for people with chronic health conditions, healthy communities and lifestyles, and substance abuse.
State Health Access Data Assistance Center Sponsored by the University of Minnesota, this organization helps states monitor rates of health insurance coverage and understand factors of under-insurance.
University of Pittsburgh Alternative Medicine Homepage Links to complementary and alternative medicine resources.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |