|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Education
|
||||
|
Find Articles Using Databases |
Education Full Text Indexes and abstracts articles from English-language education periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY
ERIC Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION OR VIVA ID NUMBER
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Indexes articles and book reviews in more than 234 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses and pamphlets are also indexed. Full-text coverage begins in 1994.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for Education is L .
L Education (general) LD-LG Individual Institutions LA History of Eduction LH School Publications LB Theory and Practice of Education LJ Fraternities & Sororities LC Special Ed, Special Aspects of Education LT Textbooks
WorldCat Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th Century.
Restricted to those with a valid Old Dominion University or VIVA ID number.
Web Resources |
Beginning Teachers Home Page Contains links to services and resources for the new teacher, including tips, mentor information, articles by topic and professional resources.
Common Core of Data Presents a comprehensive, annual, national statistical database of information concerning all public elementary and secondary schools (approximately 95,000) and school districts (approximately 17,000)--from the National Center for Education Statistics.
Darden College of Education Links to the College of Education's home page, which has information about education degrees, courses, faculty and more.
Dr. Mac's amazing behavior management advice site Offers a veritable encyclopedia of how-to information for dealing with specific problem behaviors
EDSITEment Lists online humanities resources from some of the world's great museums, libraries, cultural institutions, and universities--from the National Endowment for the Humanities in partnership with the National Trust for the Humanities, and the MarcoPolo Education Foundation.
Education Discussion Lists Includes a large listing of education discussion listservs--from the George B. Brain Education Library at Washington State University
Education Report Card Maintained by the US Chamber of Commerce, this site provides reports that assess the educational system of each state in several categories.
Education World Functions as an educator's resource guide and search engine to 115,000+ education websites
EduHound: Everything for Education K-12 Contains valuable links for teachers, students, parents and anyone else interested in a comprehensive menu of educational resources.
EFA Assessment: Country Reports Evaluates education in some 180 countries through data and analysis of fundamental issues in education. Sponsored by the World Education Forum and UNESCO.
International Children's Digital Library Digital collection of children's books from around the world.
Knowledge Loom Reports research that identifies best practices related to various themes in teaching and learning.
National Association for Single Sex Education Reports the ten-year growth of US schools offering single-sex education.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Contains an abundance of resources for mathematics educators at all levels.
Research in Education, Rand Corporation Research on topics currently in the education news or topics relevant to public policy debate. Many documents are full-text.
TeacherLingo Creates a comprehensive blog community for educators where bloggers can create, connect and read other peoples' blogs.
United States Department of Education Links to the database, ERIC, education statistical sites, and full-text of selected government publications concerning education.
Virginia Communication and Literacy Assessment Study Guide Study guide for new teacher licensure test designed to measure communication and literacy for teachers in Virginia.
What Works Clearinghouse Gathers and reviews studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies). This new site sponsored by the Department of Education is designed to replace some ERIC clearinghouses.
WWW4teachers Provides an online space for teachers integrating technology into the classroom.
Web Resources - Lesson Plans |
Blue Web'n Presents an archive of learning sites searchable by subject, grade level, keywork and type of activity.
History Teacher's Education Ring Links many sites that contain information useful to history teachers and anyone else interested in history education. Anyone with a site containing history, social studies, or education-related information can join.
Homepage for New Math Teachers Provides new math teachers with ideas and suggestions to help with their teaching.
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators Lists sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. Updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning.
Mathematics Archives K-12 Lists Internet sites containing significant collections of materials which can be used in the teaching of mathematics at the K-12 level. Organized into categories including lesson plans, software, topics, contests, societies and other.
Middle School.net Focuses on curriculum resources organized by broad subject categories, offering annotated links to materials on the Web. Developed by Judy Horn with the Governor's Best Practice Center of the Virginia Department of Education.
National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science Brings together a wide array of high-quality resources supporting the use of case studies in science education. For teachers at the high school or college level.
PBS Teachers: Resources for the Classroom Includes a wide variety of curriculum resources based on national educational standards.
Read, Write, Think Includes lesson plans and standards from the International Reading Association.
Teachable Moment Offers teaching ideas, lesson plans, essays and suggestions for guiding young people as they deal with social conflict in the world. Maintained by the Educators for Social Responsibility Metropolitan Area.
Teachers (Library of Congress) Intended to serve as a "dashboard" for educators by linking to many of the Library's educational resources, including teachers' guides and lesson plans as well as several high-quality digitized holdings.
the Educator's Reference Desk - Lesson Plans Contains more than 2000 unique lesson plans which have been written and submitted to AskERIC by teachers from all over the United States and the world.
Web English Teacher Offers a focused, in-depth resource for K-12 English/Language Arts teachers. Includes unit plans, lesson plan discussion questions, literary concepts, grading rubrics and essay planning guides.
Web Resources - Standards |
Academic Benchmarks Includes current state by state curriculum standards.
Developing Educational Standards Includes a directory of sources about educational standards and curriculum frameworks from all sources (national, state, local and other).
Virginia Standards of Learning Includes SOLs for all subjects and grade levels from the Virginia Department of Education, Division of Instruction. Also includes instructional materials to support the SOLs.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |