|
Resources by Subject |
Resources on Nursing and Allied HealthThis Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in health, medicine and nursing plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contain links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments, as well as lead to additional useful sites. |
||||
|
Find Articles Using Databases |
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Subject coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine and consumer health.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
EBSCOhost Provides access to wide variety of databases covering business, communication, computers and applied science, education, environment, health, history, humanities, music, news, nursing, psychology, religion, and women's studies. Also includes the Buros Institute publications Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, and several Spanish language databases.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile Allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back over twenty years, and encompassing over several thousand articles.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Provides full-text consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Also contains Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and generic drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides indexing, abstracts, and scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particularly strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Also includes drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
RESTRICTED TO REGISTERED STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Medline Contains citations and abstracts which cover a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature. Coverage: 1993 - present. A Cambridge database.
RESTRICTED TO THOSE WITH A VALID OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY OR VIVA ID NUMBER.
Mosby's Nursing Consult Brings the leading resources together in one integrated online service to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. Includes the latest drug information, patient education, professional journals, reference books, current news, clinical practice, and evidence-based content.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
ScienceDirect Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles. Some business and social science and humanities journals included, as well. Coverage varies by journal.
RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
Find Books |
ODU Library Catalog The Library of Congress classification for medicine is R. Also note:
RA 421-790 Public Health RM Physical Medicine, Physical Therapy RC 952-954 Geriatrics RT Nursing RC 1200-1245 Sports Medicine QM Human Anatomy RG Gynecology and Obstetrics QP Physiology RJ Pediatrics QR Microbiology RK Dentistry
Web Resources - Data & Statistics |
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Covers research and statistics in the general field of health care.
Cancer Mortality Maps & Graphs Contains interactive maps, graphs, text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.
National Center for Health Statistics Contains a wide variety of health statistics. The Center for Disease Control’s NCHS is the primary Federal organization responsible for the collection, analysis, and dissemination of health statistics.
TOXNET Provides a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Retrieve data from the Hazardous Substances Data Bank, EPA's Integrated Risk Information System, the Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, or EPA's GENETOX. Find citations to toxicology literature on TOXLINE, the Environmental Mutagen Information Center, or the Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center.
Web Resources - General |
Academic Info: Health and Medicine Links to medical subject directories, online reference works, databases and data sets, professional societies and organizations, and health law resources.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Contains news items and links to databases about environmental toxins. ATSDR is directed by congressional mandate to perform specific functions concerning the effect on public health of hazardous substances in the environment.
All the Virology on the WWW Contains a taxonomic index with links to virus images on the Web, links to course notes in virology and microbiology, and more.
American Academy of Periodontology Contains information on periodontal health for the general public and for dental professionals. Under the section For Dental Professionals, click on Clinical and Scientific papers to access full-text AAP Position Papers, Parameters of Care, and a paper about the new classification of periodontal diseases and conditions.
Anesthesia Nursing and Medicine Links to national and state anesthesia nursing associations, an online guide to anesthesia medications, and links to other sites of value to anesthesia nurses.
College of Health Sciences, Old Dominion University Links to the college's home page, which has information about degrees in the health professions, courses, faculty, and more.
DHNet Includes information on grants, professional education, clinical practice and many other items of interest to dental hygienists, from the National Center for Dental Hygiene Research.
Environmental Health and Toxicology Information Links to toxicology databases (including ToxLine and Haz-Map) and Internet resources on toxicology, from the National Library of Medicine's Specialized Information Service.
FreeMedicalJournals.com Provides an extensive listing of medical journals that are available free on the Internet. Choose from an alphabetical listing or view journals by specialty. There are more than 900 titles that allow some measure of free access. Most often, the free access is limited to issues that are at least six months old.
Global Health Provides links to partner organizations that promote global health, such as PAHO, UNICEF, and WHO. There are also links to international health-related news items and health statistics, both national and international. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Hardin MD Previously titled "Hardin MetaDirectory of Internet Health Sources," provides a well-organized set of Internet links to information on specific conditions or health specialties.
MedTechNet Contains resources for pathology and laboratory medicine.
Multilingual Glossary of Medical Terms Includes medical terms defined in nine European languages including English.
NCBI Bookshelf Provides a growing, searchable collection of biomedical books.
Student Case Materials for Dental Hygiene Provides links to case studies in such areas as Basic Science and Oral Biology, Community Dentistry and Public Health, and Pathology and Periodontology. See the navigation bar at the left for additional DH Links to professional organizations, state dental hygiene associations, continuing education resources, etc.
Web Resources - Organizations |
DIRLINE (Directory of Health Organizations Online) Provides the addresses, telephone numbers, description of services and publications of various health organizations, government agencies, professional societies, volunteer associations, support groups, academic institutions and research facilities.
Virginia Department of Health Professions Contains information pertaining to the examination, licensing and disciplining of health care practitioners governed by Virginia’s 13 health care boards.
| © 2000 - Old Dominion University | 4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
| Updated | Privacy - Copyright - Disclaimer |