Resources
by
Subject

  • Find Specialists by Subject
  • Resources on Performing Arts--Music

    This Subject Guide contains links to a few key indexes in music plus significant online resources and print materials housed in the Library's first floor reference section. Web Resources below contains links to sites with significant academic content. These may assist you on research papers and other class assignments as well as lead to additional useful sites.

    Look on the Library's Databases page for many other valuable scholarly databases in music. If you need assistance with your search, call the subject librarian (683-4131), the reference desk (683-4178), use the Ask-A-Librarian email form to send a message, or stop by the Reference Desk.
    This guide maintained by: Elizabeth Hogue Instruction & Music Collections Librarian last updated: November 9, 2008

    Find Books

    ODU Library Catalog
    The library's online catalog includes information on books, media, periodical subscriptions, and a variety of U.S. government publications. In using the online catalog, you may search by author, title, or keyword, in addition to other ways.

    The Library of Congress classification for music is M. The breakdown is as follows:

    M Music (scores and recordings)

    ML Literature of music

    MT Music instruction and study

    Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

    Index to Articles

    CAIRSS for Music
    Includes citations from over 1300 journal titles in the areas of music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine; in addition 18 of these journals are considered primary resources. Site provided since 1992 by the Institute for Music Research, University of Texas, San Antonio.
    Music Index Online
    Indexes international music periodicals and includes a broad range of subjects from all aspects of classical and popular music, book and record reviews, first performances and obituaries.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    Abstracts articles from over 5,200 journals on music, providing broad international coverage in over 202 languages. Coverage: 1967 - present. NO FULL TEXT.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.

    Reference Works

    Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Music
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF ML 105.B16 2001
    Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians since 1990 (electronic resource)
    Available electronically in the library catalog. Internet ML 102.J3 N48 2001
    Classical Music Library
    Contains over 27,000 classical music recordings for listening and searching, as well as program notes, composer biographies and recommended playlists by category.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF ML 102.P66 C66 2003
    Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
    Presents an index to dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed dissertations reported since mid-1995. Includes all records previously published in earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology, still available for sale.
    Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF ML 102.S67 E5 2005
    Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF ML 100.G16
    Grove Music Online (electronic)
    Music History 102
    Emphasizes the works of great composers and stylistic trends in music from the Renaissance to the present and includes links to musical eras (including modern music), sound files and a bibliography of sources.
    Music Publishers Association
    Links to the Music Publishers Sales Agency List and the Copyright Resource Center make this a valuable resource to performing artists.
    Musica Viva's Encyclopedia of Music
    Includes sheet music in the public domain for downloading, and information about music notation, midi files and ABC.
    MusicalAmerica.com
    Includes industry articles, agent search, artist search, press releases, calendar of events and a career center.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
    Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF ML 102.J3 N48 2001
    New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (print)
    Available in print in the Diehn Composers Room reference area. REF ML 100.N48 2001.
    Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database
    Includes 925 records of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts. This database is an on-going research project developed in association with the Indiana University Digital Library Program and retired IU faculty member, Herbert Seltz.
    The Classical Music Navigator
    Lists 444 composers by geographic location, giving notable works and pertinent information for each.

    Web Resources

    American Musicological Society
    Offers a wide variety of scholarly links of interest to music scholars, including academic job listings, music dissertations, music publishers on the web, e-journals in music, listings of music genres and various instrumentation.
    Heart and Soul: A Celebration of African American Music
    Provides information on some of the most famous African American musicians and the impact they have made on different forms of music. Includes auto samples, photos and related web site links.
    K-12 Resources for Music Educators
    Includes resources for band teachers, orchestra teachers, vocal/choral teachers, classroom music teachers and MIDI resources. The site is maintained by Cynthia Shirk, a music teacher from the Makato (Minnesota) Area Public Schools.
    Music Department, College of Arts & Letters, Old Dominion University
    Links to the department's home page, which has information about music degrees, courses, faculty and more.
    Music Theory Online
    Serves as the refereed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory, Inc. Includes features such as articles, book reviews and reports from a distinguished panel of International Correspondents.
    New Music Box
    Includes indepth articles, interviews, media releases and sound files; created by the American Music Center to promote all types of American music.
    Opera News Online
    Focuses on opera being produced today and its stars. Produced by the Metropolitan Opera Guild.
    RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY.
    The Jazz Web
    Includes live jazz performance information, music labels, jazz education and musicianship information. The site is maintained by the DJ of Northwestern's WNUR, Joe Germuska.
    US Opera
    Focuses on the production of American opera.

    Web Resources--Digital Collections--Primary Source Material

    American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress
    Includes primary source and archival materials relating to American culture and history.
    The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
    Contains over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960. Site created by Special Collections, Milton S. Eisenhower Library, The Johns Hopkins University.