22nd Annual Literary Festival 22nd Annual Literary Festival
Old Dominion University
October 11-15, 1999

Margaret Gibson

is the author of six books of poetry. Her book Long Walks in the Afternoon (1982) was a Lamont Selection, given by the Academy of American Poets. Memories of the Future (1986) was the co-winner of the Melville Cane Award, given by the Poetry Society of America. The Vigil (1993) was a finalist for the National Book Award. She has received grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Lila Wallace/Readers Digest Fellowship. Of The Vigil, Richard Dillard said, "For women who are trying to come to grips with the complex loves and entrapments of the mother-daughter relationship, for victims of alcoholic husbands and fathers (and complicitous mothers), for readers who like books that explore unflinchingly the darkened mazes of the human heart, and especially for readers who care for the shapings and discoveries of poetic language, I recommend The Vigil. Its fire burns brightly and with healing force." During the fall of 1999, Margaret Gibson will be the writer-in-residence at Old Dominion.    [extracted from 1999 brochure]

Margaret Gibson 1999 brochure photo

22nd Annual Literary Festival (1999)

Books Available
News Coverage

Literary Festival Home
Browse By Year
Browse by Author
Information about the site