23rd Annual Literary Festival
Lit Fest Home

Old Dominion University News

AUTHOR TIM O'BRIEN TO SPEAK TONIGHT AS PART OF LITERARY FESTIVAL

Old Dominion University's 23rd Annual Literary Festival, "A New World," continues Tuesday, Oct. 3, with an appearance by author Tim O'Brien, winner of both the National Book Award in fiction and France's Prix du Meilleur Libre Etranger.

O'Brien will speak at 8 p.m. in the Diehn Fine and Performing Arts Center's Chandler Recital Hall. He was also a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award and has written numerous books, including "Going After Cacciato," "If I Die in a Combat Zone" and "Tomcat in Love."

Ernest Gaines will speak as part of the university's President's Lecture Series at 8 p.m. Oct. 5 in the Mills Godwin Jr. Life Sciences Building Auditorium. Working in the tradition of James Weldon Johnson, Ralph Ellison and Zora Neale Hurston, Gaines is the author of "A Lesson Before Dying," winner of the 1993 National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction.

Steven Millhauser, author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel "Martin Dressler," will speak at 8 p.m. Oct. 4 in Chandler Recital Hall. His work has been said to have a "resonance and fairy tale allure." Other books by Millhauser include "Enchanted Night" and "The Knife Thrower and Other Stories."

Also scheduled Tuesday are: a reading reading by Michael Parker, 11 a.m., Hampton/Newport News Room, Webb University Center; "The Future of the Book," a panel featuring Parker, Bino Realuyo, Laurie Stone and O'Brien, 2 p.m., River Rooms; reading by Realuyo, 4 p.m., Hampton/Newport News Room; reading by O'Brien, 8 p.m., Chandler Recital Hall.

Also scheduled are:

*Oct. 4 -- Readings by Fran Gordon, Michael Joyce and Steven Millhauser, 11 a.m., 2 p.m. and 8 p.m., respectively, Chandler Recital Hall; panel featuring Collin Brooks, Joel English, Joyce and Gordon, 4 p.m., Hampton/Newport News Room.

*Oct. 5 -- Reading by Terrance Hayes, 4 p.m., Hampton/Newport News Room.

*Oct. 6 -- Readings by: three graduates of the university's master's program in creative writing, Judy Mercier, Anthony Enns and Ron Brooks, 11 a.m.; Laurie Stone, 2 p.m.; Old Dominion English department faculty Luisa Igloria, Michael Pearson, Janet Peery, Sheri Reynolds and Tim Seibles, 4 p.m.; and Brian Silberman, 8 p.m. All of the Oct. 6 readings will be given in the Diehn Center's Chandler Recital Hall.

For more information call 683-3991.


This article was posted on: September 29, 2000