2nd Annual Literary Festival
2nd Annual Literary Festival
Old Dominion University
October 1-4, 1979

Katherine Paterson

Katherine Paterson is the author of five books of children's literature. Her first novel, "The Sign of the Chrysanthernum," was published in 1973, followed in 1974 by "Of Nightingales That Weep," an American Library Association Notable Children's Book. "The Master Puppeteer," another ALA Notable, was awarded the 1977 National Book Award for Children's Literature, and "Bridge to Terabithia," also an ALA Notable, received the 1978 Newbery Medal and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award. Mrs. Paterson's most recent novel, "The Great Gilly Hopkins," is a Newbery Honor Book, an ALA Notable, a recipient of both the 1978 Christopher Award and the 1979 National Book Award. [extracted from 1979 brochure]

Katherine Paterson's 1979 brochure photo

2nd Annual Literary Festival  

Books Available
Web Sites

Literary Festival Home
Browse By Year
Browse by Author
Information about the site