Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 32 Health, Medicine and Nursing Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ACP Journal Club OVID
Fulltext 1991 - present
Consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine. The editors of ACP Journal Club screen top clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract and a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice are also provided.
Restricted to ODU
AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
This comprehensive database provides bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Information featured in the database concentrates on both basic science research and clinical applications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Alt HealthWatch EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports, as well as hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Anatomy.TV: Dental Hygiene
Fulltext Current
Gives clear, detailed and accurate 3D modeling of the head, oral and nasal cavities, dentition, and individual teeth. Also covers histological, embryological and morphological features and development of the head, neck and dentition including nerve and vascular innervations, muscles of mastication, orofacial embryology and histological features of the oral cavity including dentition. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time. Subscription limited to Dental Hygiene product.
Restricted to ODU
BIOSIS Previews ISI
Selected Fulltext 1926 - present
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Restricted to ODU
CINAHL Plus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1937 - present
Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL includes indexing for the contents of journals, books, dissertations, standards or practice, proceedings, and more. Provides full text access to over 750 journals, over 220 books/monographs, and contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials OVID
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains bibliographic references of definitive controlled trials in health care.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews OVID
Fulltext Current
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).
Restricted to ODU
Consumer Health Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects OVID
Fulltext Current
Contains critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
Restricted to ODU
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Covers the dental literature, including general and pediatric dentistry, endodontics, odontology, dental public health, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, and periodontology. The Journal of Dental Research is full text back to 1919.
Restricted to ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements. Safety Science has ceased and is now archived in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Simultaneously searches the Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all four databases.
Restricted to ODU
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, and projective techniques. Information is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences, industrial/organizational behavior, and education. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Health Source: Consumer Edition EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides full-text consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Also contains Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and generic drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides indexing, abstracts, and scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particularly strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Also includes drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
MedicLatina EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to medical research and investigative journals in native Spanish, published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1997 - present
This database is a comprehensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature. The database is updated daily with the full version refresh of the December 14, 2011 release by the U.S. National Library of Medicine to occur prior to March 13, 2012.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline - ISI Web of Knowledge ISI
No Fulltext 1950 - present
MEDLINE on this service contains citations and abstracts which cover a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
Restricted to ODU
Mosby's Nursing Consult Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by resource
Includes Nursing reference books, journals, drug information, patient education materials, drug calculators, clinical updates, practice guidelines, images, and Nursing-related news.
Restricted to ODU
PILOTS ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1871 - present
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycINFO APA
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PubMed (Medline and more)
Selected Fulltext 1950 - present
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
Unrestricted
R2 Digital Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
The R2 Digital Library includes electronic books in Nursing, Allied Health, and Medicine.
Restricted to ODU
Salud en Espanol EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides the Spanish version of Consumer Health Complete. Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Sociological Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
SPORTDiscus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1985 - Present
Serves as the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Web of Science ISI
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z