Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 19 News and Media Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Access World News NewsBank
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides unique coverage of local and regional newspapers, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Unlimited users.
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows a maximum of 5 users at one time.
Restricted to ODU
Atlanta Constitution ProQuest
Fulltext 1868 - 1945
Provides a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction. This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of "Rebels" from the legislature, the giving - then denying - of the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
Restricted to ODU
British Newspapers 1600-1900 Gale
Fulltext 1600 - 1900
Provides access to two collections held at the British Library. The 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers contains news-books, pamphlets, ephemera, and other early forms of newspapers. The 19th Century British Library Newspapers contains 48 newspapers representing nineteenth century Britain. The collections can be searched together or separately.
Restricted to ODU
Europa World Plus
Fulltext 2006 -- present
Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series including: Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, the Far East and Australasia, the Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries.
Restricted to ODU
Factiva Dow_Jones
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Financial Times Historical Archive Gale
Fulltext 1888 - 2006
Delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage, recognising that global financial and economic issues were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century.
Restricted to ODU
Illustrated London News Gale
Fulltext 1842 - 2003
Contains the full facsimile run of the world's most iconic illustrated newspaper. The Illustrated London News was founded by Herbert Ingram, an entrepreneurial newsagent, who noticed that newspapers sold more copies when they carried pictures. The ILN commissioned a galaxy of great artists and draughtsmen to cover wars, royal events, scientific invention, and exploration.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
New York Times w/ Index ProQuest
Fulltext 1851 - 2006
Provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. The Index covers 1851-1993.
Restricted to ODU
NewsBank Readex
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900), American State Papers (1789-1838), U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996), and Access World News. Also highlights major news events with special reports collections with news, maps, etc. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Newspaper Source Plus EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to national and international newspapers, many cover-to-cover full-text. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to several databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, Dissertations & Theses Full Text, High Technology & Aerospace Journals, American Periodicals Series Online. Also includes historical newspapers - the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, the Norfolk Journal and Guide, and The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century .
Restricted to ODU
Regional Business News EBSCOhost
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage of business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
The Times Digital Archive Gale
Fulltext 1785 - 2008
Contains full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page from The Times (London).The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Restricted to ODU
Wall Street Journal ProQuest
Fulltext 1889 - 1996
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Focuses on business, finance, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication.
Restricted to ODU
Washington Post ProQuest
Fulltext 1877 - 1993
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Restricted to ODU
World News Digest
Selected Fulltext 1940 - present
Covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This archival record of domestic and international news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print is updated weekly. Additional features are an encyclopedia, an almanac and curriculum tools.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z