Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 30 Political Science and Law Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


American State Papers Readex
Fulltext 1789 - 1838
Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals.
Restricted to ODU
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Fulltext 1991 - present
Contains full text from working papers, conference papers, journal articles, and books related to theory and research in international affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Congressional Committee Prints ProQuest
Fulltext 1830 - present
Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Hearings Digital Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 1824 - present
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. Collection includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 1873 - 1997
Provides the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress, with extensive inserted materials, communications for the president and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Research Service Reports ProQuest
Fulltext 1916 - present
Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Electronic Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Restricted to ODU
Digital National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are many complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
Europa World Plus
Fulltext 2006 -- present
Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series including: Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, the Far East and Australasia, the Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries.
Restricted to ODU
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Readex
Fulltext 1965 - 1996
Contains transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports provide a unique historical archive essential for international studies, political science and world history.
Restricted to ODU
GPO Access
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides free online use of Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Commerce Business Daily, Congressional Record and other congressional publications, Budget of the U.S., United States Code, and many more. Also contains Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, and the Government Information Locator Service (GILS).
Unrestricted
International Studies Encyclopedia Online Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1959 - Present
Published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International Studies Online) or as a 12-volume set in print. This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Restricted to ODU
Legal Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Provides scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, covering legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
Military & Government Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database ProQuest
No Fulltext 1985 - Present
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Fulltext 1993 - present
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions.
Unrestricted
PAIS International ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1915 - current
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Points of View Reference Center EBSCOhost
Fulltext Historical and Current
Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. This database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Restricted to ODU
Political Science Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1922 - Present
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest Congressional ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003). The database also includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Serial Set) Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1980
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present (includes Archives)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Sociological Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Statesman's Yearbook
Fulltext Current
Includes reliable information on every country in the world, covering history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure.
Restricted to ODU
Statistical Abstract of the United States ProQuest
Fulltext 1878 - Present
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.
Restricted to ODU
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1980
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history.
Restricted to ODU
Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU
World News Connection Archive
Fulltext 1995-2013
A powerful online subscription service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast. This information is collected and translated by and for the U.S. Government.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z