Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter E

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Readex
Fulltext 1639-1800
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement.
Restricted to ODU
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 Readex
Fulltext 1801-1819
Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Restricted to ODU
Early American Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1922
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of nine series (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922; Series 8, 1844-1922; Series 9, 1832-1922; and Series 10 (1730-1900).
Restricted to ODU
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ProQuest
Fulltext 1473 - 1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1971 - Present
Provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
EBSCOhost EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to databases in business, communication, computer science, education, health, history, humanities, music, psychology, religion, and women's studies. Includes the Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, and several Spanish language databases.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online Gale
Fulltext 18th Century
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Restricted to ODU
Ecology Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
EconLit ProQuest
No Fulltext 1969 - present
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations, covering both economic theory and application. Includes fulltext of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Economia y Negocios EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1980's - present
Provides coverage for over 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. It is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
EdITLib (Education & Information Technology Digital Library)
Selected Fulltext 2000 - present
Provides access to peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning. Sponsored by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education.
Restricted to ODU
Education Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1983-present
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Education Research Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Provides full text for more than 900 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Education Source EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1929 - Present
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Includes Education Full Text, Education Research Complete, Education Abstracts and Education Retrospective, plus 200 more journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
EEBO - Early English Books Online ProQuest
Fulltext 1473-1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
Eighteenth Century Journals Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext Coverage varies by periodical
Brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Restricted to ODU
EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1985 - present
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Electronics & Communications Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Emerald Management Xtra
Fulltext 1989 - present
Contains searchable articles from Emerald journals. Subjects covered include management, human resource management, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Empire Online Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext Coverage varies
A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Engineered Materials Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1986 - current
Covers the science, development and production of ceramics, polymers and composite materials.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Engineering Village Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Contains the Compendex (1969-present), Ei Backfile (Engineering Index from 1884-1968), GEOBASE (1973-present), Inspec (1969-present) and Inspec backfile (1896-1968) databases for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
English Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext Pre-Tudor era - 1899
Contains poems in English from the Anglo-Saxon era to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles. The English Poetry Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
English Short Title Catalogue
No Fulltext 1473 - 1800
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world, including all recorded English monographs printed between 1473 and 1800. The British Library has made this freely available online for the first time.
Unrestricted
English Verse Drama Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1270 - 1899
Contains works from the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. The English Verse Drama Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
Fulltext Current
Provides access to full-text engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Entomology Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Gathers and summarizes all the latest information on millions of insects and insect-like species, from the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1975 - Present
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1990 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements. Safety Science has ceased and is now archived in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.
Restricted to ODU
ERIC (FirstSearch) FirstSearch
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Some ERIC Documents (designated by ED and a 6-digit number) link to fulltext.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC (Proquest) ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Some ERIC journal citations link to full-text.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format.
Unrestricted
Essay and General Literature Index EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1985-present
Essay and General Literature Index is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Europa World Plus
Fulltext 2006 -- present
Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series including: Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, the Far East and Australasia, the Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries.
Restricted to ODU
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Simultaneously searches the Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all four databases.
Restricted to ODU
ExecuComp Standard_and_Poors
Fulltext Historic and current
Offers executive compensation data including current, historical, total compensation, executive options and compensation of industry peers. Selected company financial information enables you to compare executive pay versus company performance.
Restricted to ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All