Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter H

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction
Fulltext 1857 - 1877
Provides full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly and a very elaborate index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and ads.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1950 - Present
Preserves and disseminates data collected by research projects funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the nation's largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to improving the health and health care of all Americans.
Restricted to ODU
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, and projective techniques. Information is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences, industrial/organizational behavior, and education. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Health and Safety Science Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Provides a comprehensive survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, and ergonomics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Health Source: Consumer Edition EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides full-text consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Also contains Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and generic drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides indexing, abstracts, and scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particularly strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Also includes drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Highwire Press
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in the sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Historical Abstracts EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1955 - present
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
Fulltext Colonial times - present
Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Restricted to ODU
Hospitality & Tourism Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Publications include periodicals, company and country reports, and books. Coverage is both domestic and international, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1901-Present
Old Dominion University Libraries provides access to the 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st Century content of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers which comprise a vital part of the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. They are among the richest and most detailed primary sources for the history of the past two centuries, and are fundamental to an understanding of current legislation, policy making and the political environment.
Restricted to ODU
Human Genome Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - 1995
Offers a comprehensive source for developments and promising applications emerging from international genome research, including the massive Human Genome Project.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Humanities International Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All