Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 36 Life Sciences Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


AccessScience
Fulltext Current
Contains the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, as well as research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies, biographies of well-known scientists, and the latest news in science and technology.
Restricted to ODU
Agricola ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1970 - present
Indexes literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Applied Science Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1983 - present
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Includes a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Biological Sciences ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents. Biology Digest is ceased and is now archived in Biological Sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BioOne
Fulltext 2000 - present
Includes a broad selection of the full-text, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies, focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. BioOne.1 has over eighty publications, most of which are ISI ranked and available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 through JSTOR. BioOne.2 offers a new, diverse group of journals, many of which are internationally based and have not been available online until now.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BioOne Abstracts and Indexes ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1998 to Present
Includes a database that is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BIOSIS Previews ISI
Selected Fulltext 1926 - present
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Restricted to ODU
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Biotechnology & BioEngineering Database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology. Biotechnology Abstracts and Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts have ceased and are now archived with Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Birds of North America Online
Fulltext 1800's to Present
Provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. BNA Online contains image and video galleries showing plumages, behaviors, habitat, nests and eggs, and more. And most online BNA accounts now feature recordings of the songs and calls of their species, recordings selected from the extensive collection of Cornell's Macaulay Library.
Restricted to ODU
Conference Papers Index ProQuest
No Fulltext 1982 - present
This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1971 - Present
Provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1975 - Present
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements. Safety Science has ceased and is now archived in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
GEOBASE Elsevier
Fulltext 1973 - present
Serves as a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
Global Plants JSTOR
Fulltext Historic and Current
A community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. It is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
Restricted to ODU
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
JSTOR Global Plants JSTOR
Fulltext Historic and Current
A community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. It is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
Restricted to ODU
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1999 - Present
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances; including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Restricted to ODU
Knovel Library
Selected Fulltext Current
Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
Medline - ISI Web of Knowledge ISI
No Fulltext 1950 - present
MEDLINE on this service contains citations and abstracts which cover a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
Restricted to ODU
Oceanic Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
This database is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Plant Science ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1994 - present
Abstracts the scientific literature on plant science. Major areas of coverage include: Physiology, Pathology, Environmental biology & pollution, Breeding, Agronomy & horticulture, Biotechnology, Diversity, Genetics, Taxonomy, Crop protection, Water & nutrients, Plants & medicine, Algae, lichens, mosses & ferns, Forestry, and Pest Control.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PubMed (Medline and more)
Selected Fulltext 1950 - present
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
Unrestricted
SAGE Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to SAGE's prestigious and highly cited journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Reference Online
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to over 200 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Restricted to ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Sustainability Science Abstracts ProQuest
Fulltext 1995 - Current
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Human Population and Natural Resource Management is a ceased database that has been archived in Sustainability Science Abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Water Resources Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science ISI
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU
Zoological Record ISI
Selected Fulltext 1978 - present
Covers every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Over 5,000 international serials plus approximately 1,500 non-serial publications are currently monitored, including professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z