Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 80 Multidisciplinary Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


19th Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th Century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to ODU
Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia Readex
Fulltext 1535 - 1922
Created from the Library Company's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection. This collection is an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history. This unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.
Restricted to ODU
American History in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1898 to Present
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Periodicals Series ProQuest
Fulltext 1740 - 1940
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. etc.
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows a maximum of 5 users at one time.
Restricted to ODU
Art Index Retrospective EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1913 - Present
Includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more. This unique resource guides users to contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and provides access to artists’ interviews, commentaries and more.
Restricted to ODU
ArticleFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1990 - present
Indexes articles, news stories, letters and other items listed on the table of contents pages of journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Associates Programs Source EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Focuses on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas explored include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding to name a few.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Includes a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Biography in Context Gale
Fulltext Historic and Current
Provides nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography, bringing users face to face with historical figures and today's most studied newsmakers via videos, audios and images. Includes multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives through the Lives & Perspectives Collection.
Restricted to ODU
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century ProQuest
Fulltext Historic
Offers all levels of researchers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children, who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
Restricted to ODU
Black Studies in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1776-Present
Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Restricted to ODU
Books In Print
Selected Fulltext Covers current publishing
Offers valuable information on more than 7.5 million U.S. book, audio book, and video titles, as well as 12 million international titles, making it the largest bibliographic database to the industry. Available in web and print formats, this indispensable resource for booksellers, publishers, and librarians also offers: reviews; tables of contents; full-text previews; cover images; author biographies; awards information; annotations; and much more.
Restricted to ODU
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools including an atlas, biographies, news, and multimedia. Also contains a comprehensive database of statistics on every nation of the world, and 225 classic works by 140 authors that offer an introduction to significant works of history, literature, philosophy, and science.
Restricted to ODU
BrowZine
Fulltext Coverage varies by Journal
The University Libraries is subscribing to BrowZine. It’s an app for IPad or Android-based tablets that enables faculty, staff and students to browse, read and monitor many of the University Libraries’ scholarly journals. Click here to download BrowZine.
Restricted to ODU
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press)
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Restricted to ODU
ClasePeriodica FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities, and science and technology. Offers access to bibliographic citations from documents published in scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Classical Music in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys (CPES) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1990 - Present
Provides data on the distributions, correlates, and risk factors of mental disorders among the general population, with special emphasis on minority groups. CPES permits the investigation of cultural and ethnic influences on mental health.
Restricted to ODU
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1834-1966
Includes the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and beyond. Confidential Print: Africa is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying modern Africa and its recent history.
Restricted to ODU
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I, II, and III Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I,II, and III provide the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
Restricted to ODU
Dissertations & Theses @ ODU ProQuest
Fulltext 1861 - Present
Allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1743-Present
Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. Direct access to full text and other ProQuest and ebook subscriptions advance the research process.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Empire Online Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext Coverage varies
A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Europa World Plus
Fulltext 2006 -- present
Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series including: Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, the Far East and Australasia, the Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries.
Restricted to ODU
Factiva Dow_Jones
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
FIAF, the International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Chadwyck_Healey
Selected Fulltext 1938 - Present
Covers academic and popular film journals and includes full-text content from over 50 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
FirstSearch FirstSearch
No Fulltext Varies by database
Group of databases covering science, social science, humanities and business.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Fuente Academica EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1955 - Present
Provides a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For some titles there may be a more recent edition in print format.
Restricted to ODU
GEOBASE Elsevier
Fulltext 1973 - present
Serves as a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
International Encyclopedia of Education Elsevier
Fulltext 2010 - Present
Of interest to Educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds. Readers will include undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, teachers and lecturers, and professionals. The wide coverage will make it an invaluable source of information for scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
Restricted to ODU
International Financial Statistics
Fulltext 1948 - Present
Provides a complete library of continuously updated international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Restricted to ODU
International Studies Encyclopedia Online Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1959 - Present
Published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International Studies Online) or as a 12-volume set in print. This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Restricted to ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to ODU
JSTOR JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. NEW FEATURE--JSTOR now offers access to Early Journal Content (pre-1870 and pre-1923-present).
Restricted to ODU
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1999 - Present
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances; including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
LGBT Thought and Culture Alexander_Street
Fulltext 20th Century - Present
Documents LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s to present, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Restricted to ODU
Lynda.com
Streaming Video 1995 - Present
An online training library that offers training video and labs on the latest software, creative, and business skills.
Restricted to ODU
MasterFILE Premier EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Provides access to general periodicals covering business, education, health, science and more, reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts, biographies, primary source documents, Magill Book Reviews, as well as an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Middle and Junior High Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents (grades 5 through 9), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists in library service to young people, listed books encompass a wide variety of topics for youth.
Restricted to ODU
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database ProQuest
No Fulltext 1985 - Present
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
NBC Learn Higher Ed
Streaming Video 1920 - Present
Is a collection of primary source videos, newsreels, documents, and images; One of the largest news archives in the world; Collections are updated with current events daily from celebrated NBC programs.
Restricted to ODU
New York Times w/ Index ProQuest
Fulltext 1851 - 2006
Provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. The Index covers 1851-1993.
Restricted to ODU
NewsBank Readex
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900), American State Papers (1789-1838), U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996), and Access World News. Also highlights major news events with special reports collections with news, maps, etc. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Ovid OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Includes BIOSIS Previews (1969-2008), Evidence Based Medicine Reviews, and Zoological Record (1978-2009).
Restricted to ODU
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online (Oxford DNB Online) Oxford
Fulltext 4th century BC to 21st century
Includes a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford English Dictionary Oxford
Fulltext Current
Includes the Oxford English Dictionary, and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, which contains almost the entire vocabulary of English, from Old English to the present day. Also offers publicly available editorial features, providing guides to the OED content and regular commentaries on topical issues in the story of the English language.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Journals (Oxford University Press) Oxford
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides searchable database of journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social science disciplines, including many full text articles.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection Oxford
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, plus more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Political Science Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1922 - Present
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ProQuest ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to several databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, Dissertations & Theses Full Text, High Technology & Aerospace Journals, American Periodicals Series Online. Also includes historical newspapers - the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, the Norfolk Journal and Guide, and The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century .
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1743 - Present
Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. Direct access to full text and other ProQuest and ebook subscriptions advance the research process.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online Routledge
Fulltext Historic and Current
Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to SAGE's prestigious and highly cited journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Reference Online
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to over 200 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Restricted to ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Senior High Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This collection is selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Restricted to ODU
Silent Film Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1890-1930
Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present (includes Archives)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Statistical Abstract of the United States ProQuest
Fulltext 1878 - Present
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.
Restricted to ODU
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 Gale
Fulltext 1822 - 2006
The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on October 20, 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. Since that first issue, the newspaper has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week`s news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics-all collide in its pages in an abundance of colourful detail.
Restricted to ODU
Sustainability Science Abstracts ProQuest
Fulltext 1995 - Current
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Human Population and Natural Resource Management is a ceased database that has been archived in Sustainability Science Abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
UlrichsWeb
No Fulltext Current
Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on periodicals published throughout the world.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Value Line Investment Survey
Fulltext 1931 to Present
Contains a richly detailed and continuously updated compendium of current and historical market and financial data spanning thousands of U.S. companies, mutual funds and other securities, industry sectors, indices and economic variables.
Restricted to ODU
VAST: Academic Video Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. This collection is unmatched in its breadth. VAST allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from producers and distributors around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Wall Street Journal ProQuest
Fulltext 1889 - 1996
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Focuses on business, finance, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication.
Restricted to ODU
Washington Post ProQuest
Fulltext 1877 - 1993
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Restricted to ODU
Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU
Wiley Online Library Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 2007-Present
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals from professional fields and partnerships with many of the world's leading societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
WorldCat FirstSearch
No Fulltext Current
Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z