Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter O

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


OAIster
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides a union catalog of digital resources, including items such as digitized (i.e., scanned) books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mp4, quicktime), and datasets (e.g., downloadable statistics files). OAIster provides access to these digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oceanic Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
This database is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ODU Digital Commons
Fulltext Coverage varies
ODU Digital Commons preserves, promotes and shares the scholarly, creative and institutional work of Old Dominion University.
Restricted to ODU
OECD iLibrary
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Restricted to ODU
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Fulltext 1993 - present
The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.
Unrestricted
Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1989 - present
Covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations, and is valuable in researching cell growth and oncogenesis, immunology, virology, bacteriology, genetics, and other related fields.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Open Library of Humanities
Fulltext Coverage Varies
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organization dedicated to publishing open access scholarship. The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal.
Unrestricted
Optics InfoBase (Optical Society of America)
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes peer-reviewed journals published by the Optical Society of America, dedicated to the generation, application, archiving and worldwide dissemination of knowledge in optics and photonics.
Restricted to ODU
OSTI - Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Selected Fulltext 1948 - current
The Office of Scientific and Technical Information delivers research results from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). Search vast collections of DOE research results, find out about ongoing research projects, explore significant DOE discoveries, learn about DOE Nobel Prize Winners, access and search e-prints, sign up for alerts, find science conference papers and proceedings, connect with national laboratory education sites, and more.
Unrestricted
Oxford Art Online Oxford
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online (Oxford DNB Online) Oxford
Fulltext 4th century BC to 21st century
Includes a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford English Dictionary Oxford
Fulltext Current
Includes the Oxford English Dictionary, and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, which contains almost the entire vocabulary of English, from Old English to the present day. Also offers publicly available editorial features, providing guides to the OED content and regular commentaries on topical issues in the story of the English language.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Music Online Oxford
Fulltext Prehistory to present
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Contains illustrations and musical examples, including sound examples, and links to related sites. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection Oxford
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, plus more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Scholarship Online Oxford
Fulltext 2003 - Present
Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to scholarly works from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law, providing quick and easy access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford University Press Journals Oxford
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes full-text access to select journals in arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. Sixteen new journals added to ODU Libraries' subscription in 2016.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All