Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 33 Physical Sciences Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


AccessScience
Fulltext Current
Contains the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, as well as research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies, biographies of well-known scientists, and the latest news in science and technology.
Restricted to ODU
ACS Journals
Fulltext 1879 - present
Allows full-text searching of all titles published by the ACS (American Chemical Society).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 2007-Present
Contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). Title Changed from High Technology Research Database.
Restricted to ODU
AIAA Aerospace Research Central
Fulltext 1930 - present
Contains more than four decades of full-text technical information, including journal papers, meeting papers, standards and books, from all of the conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Restricted to ODU
Applied Science Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1983 - present
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present.
Restricted to ODU
Aqualine ProQuest
No Fulltext 1960 - present
Focuses on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Articles are drawn from a source list of journals, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards.
Restricted to ODU
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Includes a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Restricted to ODU
BIOSIS Previews ISI
Selected Fulltext 1926 - present
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Restricted to ODU
Conference Papers Index ProQuest
No Fulltext 1982 - present
This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1971 - Present
Provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1975 - Present
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements. Safety Science has ceased and is now archived in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
GEOBASE Elsevier
Fulltext 1973 - present
Serves as a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
GeoRef ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1669 - present
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
Restricted to ODU
GeoScienceWorld
Selected Fulltext Approximately 2000 - present
Includes peer-reviewed articles from high-impact journals in geoscience areas. GSW is integrated with GeoRef.
Restricted to ODU
Inspec Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1896 - present
Abstracts international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books from the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to ODU
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1999 - Present
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances; including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Restricted to ODU
Knovel Library
Selected Fulltext Current
Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
Oceanic Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
This database is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
OSTI - Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Selected Fulltext 1948 - current
The Office of Scientific and Technical Information delivers research results from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). Search vast collections of DOE research results, find out about ongoing research projects, explore significant DOE discoveries, learn about DOE Nobel Prize Winners, access and search e-prints, sign up for alerts, find science conference papers and proceedings, connect with national laboratory education sites, and more.
Unrestricted
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
SAGE Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to SAGE's prestigious and highly cited journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
SciFinder
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to research in chemistry and related sciences from Chemical Abstracts Service, including the world's largest collection of substance information, the CAS REGISTRY. ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to the database.
Restricted to ODU
Sustainability Science Abstracts ProQuest
Fulltext 1995 - Current
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Human Population and Natural Resource Management is a ceased database that has been archived in Sustainability Science Abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Water Resources Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science ISI
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU
Wiley Online Library Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 2007-Present
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals from professional fields and partnerships with many of the world's leading societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z