Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 46 Arts and Humanities Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


17th -18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 1603 - early 1800's
Contains newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) representing the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
Restricted to ODU
19th Century British Library Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 1800 - 1900
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Restricted to ODU
African American Music Reference Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic-1970
Provides a comprehensive reference collection to chronicle the history of African American music through 1970. It brings together the most important reference texts in this subject area, including discographies, and bibliographies—together with songsheets, images, and other print resources.
Restricted to ODU
African American Song Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1900's
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
Restricted to ODU
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1 Readex
Fulltext 1760 - 1900
Contains broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Restricted to ODU
American Song Alexander_Street
Fulltext Pre-1960
Provides a definitive source of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. It includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, as well as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Restricted to ODU
Anthropological Index Online
No Fulltext 1957 - present
Indexes the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Art Full Text WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Indexes leading arts publications from around the world. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Full-text coverage begins in 1997. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
ARTbibliographies Modern Cambridge
No Fulltext 1974 - present
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Restricted to ODU
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanites disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Arts and Humanities Citation Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ARTstor
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
Restricted to ODU
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1934 - present
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Restricted to ODU
Bibliography of the History of Art Cambridge
No Fulltext 1973 - present
Provides the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present.
Restricted to ODU
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by index
Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of books, official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Music Library Alexander_Street
Fulltext Current
Provides a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings, from Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. There are multiple versions of licensed works to enable comparative listening. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Music Reference Library Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic & current
Provides electronic access to essential reference materials, including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music. In addition to the Baker's resources, there are biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, critical texts, full text from other major reference works, biographical information, score and lyric excerpts, musical and notational terms, and photographs and images.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Scores Library Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic & current
Provides access to multiple types of scores across various composers, genres, and time periods. Many items have associated audio tracks in Classical Music Library, so users can listen to a recording online while following along with the full score.
Restricted to ODU
ComAbstracts
No Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Other resources of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) are also available.
Restricted to ODU
Communication and Mass Media Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Contemporary World Music Alexander_Street
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains sounds of all regions from every continent, such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat, but also includes other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. It is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Restricted to ODU
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index Cambridge
No Fulltext 1973 - present
Contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
Restricted to ODU
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ProQuest
Fulltext 1473 - 1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
Essay and General Literature Index WilsonWeb
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science and history to criticism of literary works, drama and film.
Restricted to ODU
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Alexander_Street
Fulltext Current
Provides a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. It includes the entire set of 10 print volumes, with additional features from Alexander Street Press.
Restricted to ODU
Grove Art Online
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Includes new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles and extensive image links. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Grove Music Online
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Contains illustrations and musical examples, including sound examples, and links to related sites. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Humanities International Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Jazz Music Library Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic - present
Provides the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online—with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Artists range from past greats to musicians performing and recording today. Liner notes to all the albums are included (in PDF format) as well as static URLs to each track and album in the database.
Restricted to ODU
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1973 - present
Abstracts all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Literature Resource Center Gale
Selected Fulltext Varied
Includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources (e.g., Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism) and from books in Twayne's Author Series.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
MLA International Bibliography Gale
Selected Fulltext 1963 - present
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Music Index Online EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1975- present
Indexes international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects from all aspects of classical and popular music. Includes book reviews, record reviews, first performances, obituaries, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Restricted to ODU
Music Online Alexander_Street
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides a comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. The new interface cross-searches the following Alexander Street products—African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, and Jazz Music Library. African American Music and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries will be added in early summer 2009.
Restricted to ODU
MusicalAmerica.com
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes industry articles, agent search, artist search, press releases, calendar of events and a career center.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford Art Online
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Provides a gateway to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford English Dictionary
Fulltext Current
Includes the electronic version of the 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, along with quarterly updates.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Philosopher's Index OVID
Selected Fulltext 1940 - present
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Religion and Philosophy Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Provides indexing and abstracts as well as full-text, peer-reviewed journals, covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1967 - present
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Alexander_Street
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of other legendary labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent. It is an educational resource that delivers the world’s diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media.
Restricted to ODU
Theatre in Video Alexander_Street
Fulltext 20th Century
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. These actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience, cover a wide range of 20th century theatre history and represent hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Restricted to ODU
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z