Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 35 Business and Economy Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


ABI/INFORM Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1971 - present
Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research. Includes information on tens of thousands of companies.
Restricted to ODU
Advertising Redbooks LexisNexis
Fulltext Current
Contains detailed information about domestic and international advertising agencies and advertisers, including business classification, agency of record, media expenditures, which brands are owned by what company, client lists and billings. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Associations Unlimited Gale
Fulltext Current
Contains information for international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.
Restricted to ODU
BNATax Management Library
Fulltext 1994 - present
NOTE: This database requires a manual login when accessing from off-campus. The USERNAME and PASSWORD are perrylibrary2 and bnaweb42, respectively. Includes a collection of in-depth analyses of specific tax topics, as well as the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury Regulations, and IRS notices and announcements.
Restricted to ODU
Business Searching Interface EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides an enhanced searching interface to Business Source Complete that allows easy access to company profiles (including Datamonitor reports), industry profiles, market research reports and country reports.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Business Source Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1886 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunites
Fulltext Current
Provides access to journal publishing directories in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Curriculum & Methods, Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science, and Psychology & Psychiatry. The directories contain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals, as well as information on publication guidelines, acceptance rates and review information.
Restricted to ODU
Corporate Affiliations LexisNexis
Fulltext Current
Provides instant insight into nearly 200,000 parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions, both public and private. Contains information from type of business, net worth and sales data, to contact information of key personnel and outside firms. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
EconLit Cambridge
No Fulltext 1969 - present
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations, covering both economic theory and application. Includes fulltext of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Emerald Management Xtra
Fulltext 1989 - present
Contains searchable articles from Emerald journals. Subjects covered include management, human resource management, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Factiva Dow Jones
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Global Financial Database
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides an extensive collection of financial and economic data covering more than 200 countries extending back to 1265. The database contains economic, fixed income, equity, and total return categories, as well as a Global History of Currencies feature. NOTE: Our subscription includes the U.S. Stock Market Database, but not the Real Estate Database.
Restricted to ODU
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Hospitality & Tourism Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Publications include periodicals, company and country reports, and books. Coverage is both domestic and international, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
IBISWorld
Fulltext Current
Provides access to IBISWorld Industry Market Research reports using Michael Porter's Five Competitive Forces framework providing data on key statistics, industry structure and analysis, and factors that affect the industry. NOTE: Our subscription does not include the separate modules covering company research, business environment, and industry risk ratings. Allows a maximum of 2 users at time.
Restricted to ODU
ICPSR -- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Selected Fulltext Historic and current
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR's data holdings, divided into 17 broad subject areas, are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based organization, with over 640 member colleges and universities around the world. ICPSR is funded with support from the ODU Office of Research.
Restricted to ODU
JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV Collection is funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
Making of the Modern World Gale
Fulltext 1450 - 1850
Provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, covering commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Restricted to ODU
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes the full text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 57 years.
Restricted to ODU
Mergent Horizon
Fulltext Current
Provides users with seamless capabilities for finding, filtering and organizing information about companies and industries. Comprehensive coverage is provided for all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ--over 6,200 in total, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media and Finance sectors.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mergent Online
Fulltext Current
Provides access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mintel Reports
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to U.S. and international market and consumer research through reports, data, daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity, as well as opinions and comments from Mintel's analysts. Please create or sign-in to your Mintel Reports Personal Profile if you wish to save, download, or bookmark records. You must sign-up with your Old Dominion University e-mail address to create your Mintel Reports Personal Profile.
Restricted to ODU
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Fulltext Coverage varies by report
Provides in-depth data and analysis for stocks and mutual funds. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Regional Business News EBSCOhost
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage of business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
RIA Checkpoint Tax Service
Fulltext 1860 - present
Research Institute of America (RIA) provides CHECKPOINT, a new Web-based online service of tax information products. It includes current and archival tax research materials.
Restricted to ODU
Safari Books Online ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides an e-reference library containing collections of emerging technology books, manuscripts, papers and instructional video, geared towards IT, software developers, web designers, system administrators and creative pros. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1956 - present
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
SourceOECD
Selected Fulltext January 1998 - present
Contains statisticals databases, books and periodicals from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, including the series OECD Economic Surveys for the 30 member countries.
Restricted to ODU
Thomson ONE Banker (Requires Internet Explorer)
Fulltext 1998 - present
Replaces Compact Disclosure and Worldscope Global. Provides detailed financial information, including historical data and forecasts, for U.S. and international public companies. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
U.S. Stock Market Database
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides comprehensive current and historical coverage of stocks traded on exchanges in the United States, with daily data for current US stocks back to 1970 and monthly data back to 1815. Stock market indices, historical stock data, delisted stocks, and fundamental data are included. NOTE: Our subscription includes the Global Financial Database, but not the Real Estate Database.
Restricted to ODU
Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses articles on such subjects as anthropology, economic development, economics, education, planning theory, policy analysis, political science, public administration, sociology and urban policy.
Restricted to ODU
Vente et Gestion EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. Covers topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
World Competitiveness Yearbook
Fulltext Current 5 years
Includes all the information from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, which analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. It covers countries and regional economies using 331 criteria, grouped into 4 main factors: economic performance, government efficiency, business efficiency, and infrastructure.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z