Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 36 Health, Medicine and Nursing Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


ACP Journal Club OVID
Fulltext 1991 - present
Consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group. The ACP Journal Club identifies studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant, and provides an enhanced abstract and a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice.
Restricted to ODU
AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Indexes the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Includes abstracts from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Alt HealthWatch EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports, as well as hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BIOSIS Previews OVID
Selected Fulltext 1969 - present
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Allows a maximum of 10 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
BIOSIS Previews Archive OVID
Selected Fulltext 1926 - 1968
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Allows a maximum of 10 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
CINAHL Plus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1937 - present
Provides full text for over 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. Contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials OVID
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains bibliographic references of definitive controlled trials in health care.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews OVID
Fulltext Current
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The two types of reviews are Complete reviews and Protocols. Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared.
Restricted to ODU
Consumer Health Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects OVID
Fulltext Current
Contains critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
Restricted to ODU
EBSCOhost EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to wide variety of databases covering business, communication, computers and applied science, education, environment, health, history, humanities, music, news, nursing, psychology, religion, and women's studies. Also includes the Buros Institute publications Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, and several Spanish language databases.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all four databases.
Restricted to ODU
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) OVID
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Provides access to information on unpublished measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, etc.) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back over twenty years, and encompassing over several thousand articles.
Restricted to ODU
Health Source: Consumer Edition EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides full-text consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Also contains Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and generic drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides indexing, abstracts, and scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particularly strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Also includes drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
MedicLatina EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to medical research and investigative journals in native Spanish, published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1997 - present
MEDLINE on this service contains citations and abstracts which cover a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1950 - present
Includes records with substantial abstracts in all areas of medicine. Corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline - ISI Web of Knowledge
No Fulltext 1950 - present
Covers biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search capabilities include MesH terms and CAS registry numbers. Produced by the U. S. National Library of Medicine.
Restricted to ODU
Mosby's Nursing Consult Elsevier
Fulltext Current
Brings the leading resources together in one integrated online service to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. Includes the latest drug information, patient education, professional journals, reference books, current news, clinical practice, and evidence-based content. Care Planning Tools
Restricted to ODU
NLM Gateway
No Fulltext 1950 - present
Allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches MEDLINE/PubMed, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, HSRProj, OMIM, and HSDB.
Unrestricted
PILOTS Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1871 - present
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycINFO EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PubMed (Medline and more)
Selected Fulltext 1950 - present
Contains biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Approximately 5,000 journals published in the United States and more than 80 other countries are currently indexed for MEDLINE, the largest component of PubMed, using NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Unrestricted
Safety Science and Risk Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts the literature from the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational situations. Combines Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts and Risk Abstracts, which can be searched individually.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Salud en Espanol EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides the Spanish version of Consumer Health Complete. Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Sociological Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
Abstracts journal articles from serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
TOXLINE Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1996 - Current
Abstracts journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and more on toxicology, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the National Library of Medicine from files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. (Contains no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.) A rolling 5-year database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z