|
Information Databases |
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides
| Accessible Archives | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by database |
Includes the following fulltext databases: Godey's Lady's Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, African American Newspapers, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County and The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| AccuNet AP Multimedia Archive | |
| Selected Fulltext | Current |
Contains current photos and a selection of pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows one user at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| African American Song | Alexander_Street |
| Fulltext | 1900's |
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| African-American Newspapers:The 19th Century | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | 1800s |
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also included are large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry, prose and advertisements, all of which embody the African-American experience. Click on Search tab for the menu of databases. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| America's Historical Newspapers | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1690 - 1922 |
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of five series of Early American Newspapers: Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922 and Series 5, 1777-1922. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| America: History & Life | EBSCOhost |
| Selected Fulltext | Pre-history - present |
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| America: History & Life | ABC-Clio |
| Selected Fulltext | Pre-history - present |
As of September 2007, EBSCO is now the provider of America: History & Life, originally offered by ABC-CLIO. For your convenience, EBSCO will provide access to the database from its multi-functional, world-renowned EBSCOhost interface, as well as from the original ABC-CLIO platform (through June 2008). |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1 | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1760 - 1900 |
Contains broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| American Periodicals Series | ProQuest |
| Fulltext | 1740 - 1940 |
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. etc. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| American Song | Alexander_Street |
| Fulltext | Pre-1960 |
Provides a definitive source of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. It includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, as well as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| American State Papers | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1789 - 1838 |
Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| C19: The Nineteenth Century Index | ProQuest |
| No Fulltext | Coverage varies by index |
Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of books, official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press) | |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by journal |
Provides full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | 1860 - 1865 |
Contains articles from various 19th century newspapers on the Civil War. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Congressional Committee Prints | LexisNexis |
| Fulltext | 1830 - present |
Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Congressional Hearings Digital Collection | LexisNexis |
| Fulltext | 1934-2003 |
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. When completed in December 2008, this retrospective collection will include all hearings from 1824-2003. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Congressional Research Service Reports | LexisNexis |
| Fulltext | 1916 - present |
Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| CQ Press Political Reference Suite | |
| Fulltext | Historic and current |
Contains the electronic version of the following resources: Congress and the Nation, Historical Documents Series, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and Washington Information Directory. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Digital National Security Archive | ProQuest |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by collection |
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are many complete collections, each offering specialized insights. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Dissertations & Theses Full Text | ProQuest |
| Selected Fulltext | 1861 - present |
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Early American Newspapers | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1690 - 1922 |
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. The five series form the database titled 'America's Historical Newspapers': Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; and Series 5, 1777-1922. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Early English Books Online (EEBO) | ProQuest |
| Fulltext | 1473 - 1700 |
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) | Gale |
| Fulltext | 18th Century |
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Eighteenth Century Journals | |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by periodical |
Provides access to a wide variety of rare newspapers and periodicals for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century. Collection I, covering 1693-1793, is from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Collection II, 1699-1812, is from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| English Short Title Catalogue | |
| No Fulltext | 1473 - 1800 |
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world, including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700. The British Library is making this freely available online for the first time. |
|
Unrestricted |
|
| Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs | Chadwyck_Healey |
| Fulltext | 1543-1945 |
Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. This collection was started in the late 1800's by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen, and has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Godey's Lady's Book | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | 1830 - 1885 |
Contains articles on a wide variety of subjects, intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. The magazine is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture. Also includes fashion descriptions and plates, book reviews, essays and short stories, and sheet music. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction | |
| Fulltext | 1857 - 1877 |
Provides full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly and a very elaborate index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and ads. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Historical Abstracts | ABC-Clio |
| Selected Fulltext | 1450 - present |
As of September 2007, EBSCO is now the provider of Historical Abstracts, originally offered by ABC-CLIO. For your convenience, EBSCO will provide access to the database from its multi-functional, world-renowned EBSCOhost interface, as well as from the original ABC-CLIO platform (through June 2008). |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Historical Abstracts | EBSCOhost |
| Selected Fulltext | 1450 - present |
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online | |
| Fulltext | Colonial times - present |
Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| JSTOR | |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by journal |
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV Collection is funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Making of the Modern World | Gale |
| Fulltext | 1450 - 1850 |
Provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, covering commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| National Security Archive | ProQuest |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by collection |
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers | Gale |
| Fulltext | 19th Century |
Provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS) | |
| Fulltext | 1993 - present |
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions. |
|
Unrestricted |
|
| Pennsylvania Gazette | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | 1728 - 1800 |
Provides full text articles, news items, editorials, letters, etc. from The Pennsylvania Gazette, considered The New York Times of the 18th century. Also includes full-text of documents such as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paynes Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Project Muse | |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by journal |
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Serial Set) | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1817-1942 |
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2008 will cover 1817-1980. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| U.S. Congressional Serial Set | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1817-1942 |
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2008 will cover 1817-1980. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Virginia Company Archives | |
| Fulltext | Early 1600's |
Contains the Ferrar Papers (Nicholas Ferrar and family) which are in Magdalene College, Cambridge. Also includes transcripts of documents that throw light on the Virginia Company of London, the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London edited by Susan Myra Kingsbury, as well as prints and maps. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
| © 2000 -
Old Dominion University |
4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
Updated Friday, 09-May-2008 12:25:16 EDT |
Internet Privacy Statement |