Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 12 News and Media Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Access World News Readex
Fulltext 1996 - present
Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
British Newspapers 1600-1900 Gale
Fulltext 1600 - 1900
Provides access to two collections held at the British Library. The 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers contains news-books, pamphlets, ephemera, and other early forms of newspapers. The 19th Century British Library Newspapers contains 48 newspapers representing nineteenth century Britain. The collections can be searched together or separately.
Restricted to ODU
Factiva Dow Jones
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Global NewsBank
Fulltext 1996 - present
Database name changed to Access World News as of July 2009.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
NewsBank Readex
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900), American State Papers (1789-1838), U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996), and Access World News. Also highlights major news events with special reports collections with news, maps, etc. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Newspaper Source Plus EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to national and international newspapers, many cover-to-cover full-text. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Restricted to ODU
Regional Business News EBSCOhost
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage of business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
World News Connection
Fulltext 1995 - present
Contains fulltext translations of political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books from around the world. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
World News Digest
Selected Fulltext 1940 - present
Covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This archival record of domestic and international news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print is updated weekly. Additional features are an encyclopedia, an almanac and curriculum tools.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z