Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 32 Political Science and Law Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Alternative Press Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1991 - present
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Alternative Press Index Archive FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1969 - 1990
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American State Papers Readex
Fulltext 1789 - 1838
Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals.
Restricted to ODU
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Fulltext 1991 - present
Contains full text from working papers, conference papers, journal articles, and books related to theory and research in international affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Congressional Committee Prints LexisNexis
Fulltext 1830 - present
Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Hearings Digital Collection LexisNexis
Fulltext 1824 - present
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection LexisNexis
Fulltext 1958 - 1997
Provides the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress, with extensive inserted materials, communications for the president and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions. NOTE: Data is being added on a monthly basis, and will cover 1873 -1997 when completed.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Research Service Reports LexisNexis
Fulltext 1916 - present
Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Electronic Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies
Integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
Restricted to ODU
Digital National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are many complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Readex
Fulltext 1974-1996
Contains transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports provide a unique historical archive essential for international studies, political science and world history.
Restricted to ODU
GPO Access
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides free online use of Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Commerce Business Daily, Congressional Record and other congressional publications, Budget of the U.S., United States Code, and many more. Also contains Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, and the Government Information Locator Service (GILS).
Unrestricted
ICPSR -- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Selected Fulltext Historic and current
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR's data holdings, divided into 17 broad subject areas, are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based organization, with over 640 member colleges and universities around the world. ICPSR is funded with support from the ODU Office of Research.
Restricted to ODU
Legal Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Provides scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, covering legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Congressional LexisNexis
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Military & Government Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Fulltext 1993 - present
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions.
Unrestricted
PAIS Archive Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1915 - 1976
Comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, and provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PAIS International Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1972 - current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies and more, on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes journals published by SAGE and participating societies, covering such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies.
Restricted to ODU
Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Serial Set) Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1977
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2009 will cover 1817-1980.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1956 - present
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Sociological Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
Abstracts journal articles from serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
SourceOECD
Selected Fulltext January 1998 - present
Contains statisticals databases, books and periodicals from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, including the series OECD Economic Surveys for the 30 member countries.
Restricted to ODU
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1977
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2009 will cover 1817-1980.
Restricted to ODU
Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses articles on such subjects as anthropology, economic development, economics, education, planning theory, policy analysis, political science, public administration, sociology and urban policy.
Restricted to ODU
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides links to web pages for federal, state, and local governments, and to foreign nations around the world.
Unrestricted
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU
World News Connection
Fulltext 1995 - present
Contains fulltext translations of political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books from around the world. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z