|
Information Databases |
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
| Databases starting with the letter A |
For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides |
| ABI/INFORM Global | ProQuest |
| Selected Fulltext | 1971 - present |
Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research. Includes information on tens of thousands of companies. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Academic OneFile | |
| Selected Fulltext | 1887 - present |
As of July 1, 2008 this Gale database has been replaced by a similar one available through EBSCOhost. This links to Academic Search Complete. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
Academic Search Complete
|
EBSCOhost |
| Selected Fulltext | 1887 - present |
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Accessible Archives | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by database |
Includes the following fulltext databases: Godey's Lady's Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, African American Newspapers, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County and The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| AccuNet AP Multimedia Archive | |
| Selected Fulltext | Current |
Contains current photos and a selection of pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows one user at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| ACM Digital Library | ACM |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by journal |
Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| ACP Journal Club | OVID |
| Fulltext | 1991 - present |
Consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group. The ACP Journal Club identifies studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant, and provides an enhanced abstract and a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| ACS Journals | |
| Fulltext | 1879 - present |
Allows full-text searching of all titles published by the ACS (American Chemical Society). |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Advertising Redbooks | LexisNexis |
| Fulltext | Current |
Contains detailed information about domestic and international advertising agencies and advertisers, including business classification, agency of record, media expenditures, which brands are owned by what company, client lists and billings. Allows one user at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| African American Poetry Database | Chadwyck_Healey |
| Fulltext | 1760 - 1900 |
Contains full-text of thousands of African-American poems. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| African American Song | Alexander_Street |
| Fulltext | 1900's |
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| African-American Newspapers:The 19th Century | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | 1800s |
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also included are large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry, prose and advertisements, all of which embody the African-American experience. Click on search tab and select from the list of sources. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Agricola | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1970 - present |
Indexes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, translations, microforms, audiovisuals, software and technical reports in the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
AIAA Electronic Library
|
|
| Fulltext | 1963 - present |
Contains more than four decades of full-text technical information, including journal papers, meeting papers, standards and books, from all of the conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1982 - present |
Indexes the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Includes abstracts from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| AIP Journals - American Institute of Physics | |
| Selected Fulltext | Coverage varies by journal |
Contains highly cited and relevant journals published by the American Institute of Physics. Some titles have fulltext electronic coverage back to 1930. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1982 - present |
For the benefit of researchers working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens, this database separates out all the relevant studies in the literature and organizes them in one source for easy reference. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
Alt HealthWatch
|
EBSCOhost |
| Selected Fulltext | 1984 - present |
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports, as well as hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Alternative Press Index | FirstSearch |
| No Fulltext | 1991 - present |
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Alternative Press Index Archive | FirstSearch |
| No Fulltext | 1969 - 1990 |
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Aluminium Industry Abstracts | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1972 - present |
Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Includes information from scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, and patents. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| America's Historical Newspapers | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1690 - 1922 |
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of five series of Early American Newspapers: Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922 and Series 5, 1777-1922. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| America: History & Life | EBSCOhost |
| Selected Fulltext | 1964 - present |
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for journals from 1964 to the present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1 | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1760 - 1900 |
Contains broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| American Library Directory | |
| Fulltext | Current |
Provides detailed profiles for more than 35,000 public, academic, special and government libraries, and library-related organizations in the United States, and Canada. Includes addresses, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail addresses, network participation, expenditures, holdings and special collections, key personnel, special services and more. Allows 1 user at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| American Periodicals Series | ProQuest |
| Fulltext | 1740 - 1940 |
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. etc. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| American Poetry Database | Chadwyck_Healey |
| Fulltext | Colonial period to early 20th century |
Includes thousands of poems from the colonial period to the early 20th century. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| American Song | Alexander_Street |
| Fulltext | Pre-1960 |
Provides a definitive source of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. It includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, as well as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| American State Papers | Readex |
| Fulltext | 1789 - 1838 |
Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Animal Behavior Abstracts | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1982 - present |
Abstracts significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology, as well as the biology of particular taxonomic groups. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Annual Reviews | |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies |
Contains authoritative, analytic reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering | Cambridge |
| No Fulltext | 1981 - present |
Includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Anthropological Index Online | |
| No Fulltext | 1957 - present |
Indexes the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library). |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Applied Science Full Text | WilsonWeb |
| Selected Fulltext | 1983 - present |
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Aqualine | Cambridge |
| No Fulltext | 1960 - present |
Focuses on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Articles are drawn from a source list of journals, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Art Full Text | WilsonWeb |
| Selected Fulltext | 1984 - present |
Indexes leading arts publications from around the world. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Full-text coverage begins in 1997. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| ARTbibliographies Modern | Cambridge |
| No Fulltext | 1974 - present |
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| ArticleFirst | FirstSearch |
| No Fulltext | 1990 - present |
Indexes articles, news stories, letters and other items listed on the table of contents pages of journals. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science | |
| Selected Fulltext | 1975 - present |
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanites disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Arts and Humanities Citation Index | FirstSearch |
| No Fulltext | 1980 - present |
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
|
ARTstor |
|
| Fulltext | Historic and current |
Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1971 - present |
Abstracts journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature on the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| ASME Journals | |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by journal |
Provides access to journals published by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts | Cambridge |
| No Fulltext | 1987 - present |
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently contains records from journals published in many different countries, including the UK and US. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
Associates Programs Source
|
EBSCOhost |
| Selected Fulltext | Coverage varies |
Focuses on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas explored include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding to name a few. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Associations Unlimited | Gale |
| Fulltext | Current |
Contains information for international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1934 - present |
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
| © 2000 -
Old Dominion University |
4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
Updated Sunday, 28-Sep-2008 10:06:10 EDT |
Internet Privacy Statement |