Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Databases starting with the letter C

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by index
Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of books, official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online.
Restricted to ODU
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunites
Fulltext Current
Provides access to journal publishing directories in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Curriculum & Methods, Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science, and Psychology & Psychiatry. The directories contain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals, as well as information on publication guidelines, acceptance rates and review information.
Restricted to ODU
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Focuses on the role that calcium plays in all aspects of biology and medicine, indexing research in bone metabolism, tooth development, nerve transmission, muscle contraction, hormone secretion, calcium deficiency and many other critical fields.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press)
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Consists of databases in mostly scientific fields including life sciences, environmental and aquatic sciences, computer sciences, materials sciences and engineering, aerospace, as well as social sciences and humanities.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramic Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Provides international coverage of the ceramics industry, including the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Source materials include journals, conference proceedings, books, patents, standards and company product literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Chemoreception Abstracts Cambridge
No Fulltext 1982 - present
Indexes the research relating to the neurobiology, chemistry, and physiology of taste, smell, internal chemoreception, and chemotaxis, including coverage of such vital areas as signal transduction, receptors, channels and neurogenetics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Children's Core Collection WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists. The Children's Core Collection is the electronic version of Wilson's standard reference work "Children's Catalog". Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
CINAHL Plus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1937 - present
Provides full text for over 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. Contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Restricted to ODU
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1860 - 1865
Contains articles from various 19th century newspapers on the Civil War. Click on search tab and select from the list of sources.
Restricted to ODU
ClasePeriodica FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities, and science and technology. Offers access to bibliographic citations from documents published in scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Classical Music Library Alexander_Street
Fulltext Current
Provides a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings, from Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. There are multiple versions of licensed works to enable comparative listening. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials OVID
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains bibliographic references of definitive controlled trials in health care.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews OVID
Fulltext Current
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The two types of reviews are Complete reviews and Protocols. Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared.
Restricted to ODU
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Fulltext 1991 - present
Contains full text from working papers, conference papers, journal articles, and books related to theory and research in international affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ComAbstracts
No Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Other resources of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) are also available.
Restricted to ODU
Communication and Mass Media Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Compendex Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Abstracts articles from journals, selected government reports and books on engineering. New records are added to the database annually from disciplines and major specialties within engineering. The electronic version of Engineering Index, it is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Computer & Information Systems Abstracts Cambridge
No Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts journal articles on the theoretical and practical aspects of computer science.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Computer Database
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
As of July 1, 2008 this Gale database has been replaced by a similar one available through EBSCOhost. This links to Computers & Applied Sciences Complete.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Also includes searchable cited references for key journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Conference Papers Index Cambridge
No Fulltext 1982 - present
Indexes conference papers, especially in the life, environmental, and aquatic sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Congressional Committee Prints LexisNexis
Fulltext 1830 - present
Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Hearings Digital Collection LexisNexis
Fulltext 1883 - 2003
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. When completed in December 2008, this retrospective collection will include all hearings from 1824-2003.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Research Service Reports LexisNexis
Fulltext 1916 - present
Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs.
Restricted to ODU
Consumer Health Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Consumers Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1986 - present
Abstracts journal articles and links to Internet resources on consumerism and consumer protection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Contemporary Authors - Literature Resource Center Gale
Fulltext 1900 - present
Included as part of the Literature Resource Center database. Results from Author search will include link to Contemporary Authors. The Literature Resource Center provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Contemporary Women's Issues FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1992 - present
Indexes articles and other material from journals, books, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies on women in many countries. Other database options are Women's Studies International and Gender Studies Database from EBSCOhost, both with selected full-text.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Contemporary World Music Alexander_Street
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains sounds of all regions from every continent, such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat, but also includes other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. It is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Restricted to ODU
Copper Data Center Database Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Provides a bibliographic database of the world's literature on copper, copper alloys and copper technology since 1965. This database provides international coverage with the monitoring of serial titles as well as numberous non-serial publications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Corporate Affiliations LexisNexis
Fulltext Current
Provides instant insight into nearly 200,000 parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions, both public and private. Contains information from type of business, net worth and sales data, to contact information of key personnel and outside firms. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Corrosion Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1980 - present
Abstracts journal articles and other sources in corrosion science and engineering.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
CQ Electronic Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Fulltext Historic and current
Contains the following resources: Congress and the Nation, Historical Documents Series, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and Washington Information Directory. *Trial access is provided to the following content from 08/15/08-09/18/08: Guide to the Presidency, Guide to U.S. Elections, Guide to Congress, Guide to Political Campaigns in America, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, and CQ Almanac.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Researcher Online
Fulltext 1923 - present
Offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues. Published many times a year, each single-themed report includes a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions and more. Note: If asked for a username and password, they are odu and library, respectively.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies
Integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
Restricted to ODU
Criminal Justice Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1968 - present
Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
Restricted to ODU
CSA Illumina Cambridge
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides a simple, more user-friendly approach to searching, while maintaining powerful options. The interface provides access to more than 100 databases published by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts and its publishing partners.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
CSA Materials Research Database Cambridge
No Fulltext 1966 - present
Indexes materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Includes primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
CSA Neuroscience Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
CSIRO Publishing Journals
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a wide range of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, the plant and animal sciences, and environmental management.
Unrestricted

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z