Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Databases starting with the letter E

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Early American Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1922
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. The five series form the database titled 'America's Historical Newspapers': Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; and Series 5, 1777-1922.
Restricted to ODU
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ProQuest
Fulltext 1473 - 1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
EBSCOhost EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to wide variety of databases covering business, communication, computers and applied science, education, environment, health, history, humanities, music, news, nursing, psychology, religion, and women's studies. Also includes the Buros Institute publications Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, and several Spanish language databases.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online Gale
Fulltext 18th Century
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Restricted to ODU
Ecology Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
EconLit Cambridge
No Fulltext 1969 - present
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations, covering both economic theory and application. Includes fulltext of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Economia y Negocios EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1980's - present
Provides coverage for over 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. It is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Education Full Text WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext 1983-present
Indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language education periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
Restricted to ODU
Education Research Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Provides full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles.
Restricted to ODU
EEBO - Early English Books Online ProQuest
Fulltext 1473-1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Gale
Fulltext 18th Century
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Restricted to ODU
Eighteenth Century Journals
Fulltext Coverage varies by periodical
Provides access to a wide variety of rare newspapers and periodicals for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century. Collection I, covering 1693-1793, is from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Collection II, 1699-1812, is from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin.
Restricted to ODU
EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1985 - present
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Electronics & Communications Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts journal articles, conference papers and other sources on electronics and communications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Emerald Management Xtra
Fulltext 1989 - present
Contains searchable articles from Emerald journals. Subjects covered include management, human resource management, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Engineered Materials Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1986 - current
Covers the science, development and production of ceramics, polymers and composite materials.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Engineering Village Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Contains the Compendex (1969-present), Ei Backfile (Engineering Index from 1884-1968) & Inspec (1969-present) databases for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
English Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext Pre-Tudor era - 1899
Contains poems in English from the Anglo-Saxon era to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
English Short Title Catalogue
No Fulltext 1473 - 1800
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world, including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700. The British Library is making this freely available online for the first time.
Unrestricted
English Verse Drama Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1270 - 1899
Contains works from the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
Fulltext Current
Provides access to full-text engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Entomology Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Gathers and summarizes all the latest information on millions of insects and insect-like species, from the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Engineering Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1990 - present
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC (CSA) Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Some ERIC journal citations link to full-text.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC (FirstSearch) FirstSearch
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Some ERIC Documents (designated by ED and a 6-digit number) link to fulltext.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature indexed from 1966 to the present. Also contains a growing collection of full-text materials, including reports from the What Works Clearinghouse.
Unrestricted
Essay and General Literature Index WilsonWeb
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science and history to criticism of literary works, drama and film.
Restricted to ODU
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all four databases.
Restricted to ODU
Expanded Academic Index
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
As of July 1, 2008 this Gale database has been replaced by a similar one available through EBSCOhost. This links to Academic Search Complete.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z