Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 28 Engineering Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


AIAA Electronic Library
Fulltext 1963 - present
Contains more than four decades of full-text technical information, including journal papers, meeting papers, standards and books, from all of the conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Restricted to ODU
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering Cambridge
No Fulltext 1981 - present
Includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Applied Science Full Text WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext 1983 - present
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present.
Restricted to ODU
Compendex Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Abstracts articles from journals, selected government reports and books on engineering. New records are added to the database annually from disciplines and major specialties within engineering. The electronic version of Engineering Index, it is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Also includes searchable cited references for key journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Conference Papers Index Cambridge
No Fulltext 1982 - present
Indexes conference papers, especially in the life, environmental, and aquatic sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Corrosion Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1980 - present
Abstracts journal articles and other sources in corrosion science and engineering.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Electronics & Communications Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts journal articles, conference papers and other sources on electronics and communications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Emerald Management Xtra
Fulltext 1989 - present
Contains searchable articles from Emerald journals. Subjects covered include management, human resource management, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Engineered Materials Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1986 - current
Covers the science, development and production of ceramics, polymers and composite materials.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Engineering Village Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Contains the Compendex (1969-present), Ei Backfile (Engineering Index from 1884-1968) & Inspec (1969-present) databases for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
Fulltext Current
Provides access to full-text engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Engineering Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1990 - present
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
IEEE Xplore
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Inspec Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1969 - present
Abstracts international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books from the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology.
Restricted to ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Knovel Library
Selected Fulltext Current
Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
Materials Business File Cambridge
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Abstracts material from journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mechanical Engineering Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - 2002
Abstracts the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering. Presents theoretical perspectives, specific applications, reports on key developments published in journals, articles, and conference papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
METADEX Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Abstracts information from journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Abstracts journal articles and other material on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU
Weldasearch Cambridge
No Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Abstracts journal articles, research reports, books, standards, patents, theses and special publications in the areas of joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z