|
Information Databases |
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
| Databases starting with the letter G |
For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides |
| Gale | Gale |
| Selected Fulltext | Coverage varies |
Provides access to a variety of databases, including MLA International Bibliography, Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Biography & Genealogy Master Index, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, and Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | Gale |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies |
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For some titles there may be a more recent edition in print format. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Gender Studies Database | EBSCOhost |
| Selected Fulltext | 1972 - present |
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, providing the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| General Business File | |
| Selected Fulltext | 1886 - present |
As of July 1, 2008 this Gale database has been replaced by a similar one available through EBSCOhost. This links to Business Source Complete. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| General OneFile | |
| Selected Fulltext | 1975 - present |
As of July 1, 2008 this Gale database has been replaced by a similar one available through EBSCOhost. This links to MasterFILE Premier. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Genetics Abstracts | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1982 - present |
Provides the widest possible perspective of genetics as a whole, from microbes to plants to humans. The field of molecular genetics is emphasized, with important information on all aspects of DNA, differentiation and development, RNA, protein synthesis, ribosomes, nuclear proteins and chromatin, enzymes, and gene regulation. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| GEOBASE | FirstSearch |
| No Fulltext | 1980 - present |
Covers worldwide research literature in physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| GeoRef | Cambridge |
| Selected Fulltext | 1693 - present |
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world, including to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| GeoScienceWorld | |
| Selected Fulltext | Approximately 2000 - present |
Includes peer-reviewed articles from high-impact journals in geoscience areas. GSW is integrated with GeoRef. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs | Chadwyck_Healey |
| Fulltext | 1543-1945 |
Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. This collection was started in the late 1800's by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen, and has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Global Books In Print | |
| Fulltext | Covers current publishing |
Accesses Bowker's Books In Print database of in-print, out-of-print and forthcoming books, audio books and videos that are available in the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, South Africa and New Zealand. Includes many full-text reviews. |
|
Restricted to VIVA/ODU |
|
| Global NewsBank | |
| Fulltext | 1996 - present |
Contains current articles, news summaries, broadcasts and transcripts from hundreds of international sources. All articles are in English and are from translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, magazines, and government documents. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Godey's Lady's Book | Accessible_Archives |
| Fulltext | 1830 - 1885 |
Contains articles on a wide variety of subjects, intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. The magazine is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture. Also includes fashion descriptions and plates, book reviews, essays and short stories, and sheet music. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| GPO Access | |
| Fulltext | Coverage varies by database |
Provides free online use of Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Commerce Business Daily, Congressional Record and other congressional publications, Budget of the U.S., United States Code, and many more. Also contains Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, and the Government Information Locator Service (GILS). |
|
Unrestricted |
|
| GPO, Government Publications Monthly Catalog | FirstSearch |
| No Fulltext | 1976 - present |
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Grove Art Online | |
| Fulltext | Prehistory - present |
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Includes new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles and extensive image links. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| Grove Music Online | |
| Fulltext | Prehistory - present |
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Contains illustrations and musical examples, including sound examples, and links to related sites. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time. |
|
Restricted to ODU |
|
| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
| © 2000 -
Old Dominion University |
4427 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk VA. 23529 (757) 683-4154 |
Updated Thursday, 28-Aug-2008 16:03:33 EDT |
Internet Privacy Statement |