Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 23 Government Information Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


American State Papers Readex
Fulltext 1789 - 1838
Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Committee Prints LexisNexis
Fulltext 1830 - present
Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Hearings Digital Collection LexisNexis
Fulltext 1883 - 2003
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. When completed in December 2008, this retrospective collection will include all hearings from 1824-2003.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Research Service Reports LexisNexis
Fulltext 1916 - present
Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Electronic Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies
Integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
Restricted to ODU
Digital National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are many complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
FedStats
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides easy access via the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy to the full range of statistics and information produced by federal agencies for public use.
Unrestricted
GPO Access
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides free online use of Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Commerce Business Daily, Congressional Record and other congressional publications, Budget of the U.S., United States Code, and many more. Also contains Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, and the Government Information Locator Service (GILS).
Unrestricted
GPO, Government Publications Monthly Catalog FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1976 - present
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
Restricted to ODU
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
Fulltext Colonial times - present
Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Congressional LexisNexis
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003 when completed in 2008).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Military & Government Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Fulltext 1993 - present
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions.
Unrestricted
PAIS Archive Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1915 - 1976
Comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, and provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PAIS International Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1972 - current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies and more, on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Serial Set) Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1954
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2008 will cover 1817-1980.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1956 - present
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
STAT-USA
Fulltext Coverage varies by report
Provides access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government. It is comprised of State of the Nation , covering current and historical federal economic and financial data, and GLOBUS & NTDB which contains current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, and country analysis.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1954
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2008 will cover 1817-1980.
Restricted to ODU
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides links to web pages for federal, state, and local governments, and to foreign nations around the world.
Unrestricted

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z