Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 28 Life Sciences Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Agricola Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1970 - present
Indexes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, translations, microforms, audiovisuals, software and technical reports in the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Applied Science Full Text WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext 1983 - present
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present.
Restricted to ODU
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1971 - present
Abstracts journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature on the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Biological Sciences Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Abstracts a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Biology Digest Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1989 - present
Indexes domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences, appropriate for high school and undergraduate college levels.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BIOSIS Previews OVID
Selected Fulltext 1969 - present
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Allows a maximum of 10 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
BIOSIS Previews Archive OVID
Selected Fulltext 1926 - 1968
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Allows a maximum of 10 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Abstracts ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical and pharmaceutical.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Conference Papers Index Cambridge
No Fulltext 1982 - present
Indexes conference papers, especially in the life, environmental, and aquatic sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Knovel Library
Selected Fulltext Current
Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
Medline FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1950 - present
Includes records with substantial abstracts in all areas of medicine. Corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from current biomedical journals. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
NLM Gateway
No Fulltext 1950 - present
Allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The current Gateway searches MEDLINE/PubMed, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, HSRProj, OMIM, and HSDB.
Unrestricted
Oceanic Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts material from the worldwide technical literature pertaining to biological oceanography, ecology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation and communications, maritime law, desalination, ships and shipping, and marine biology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Plant Science Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1994 - present
Abstracts the scientific literature on plant science. Major areas of coverage include: Physiology, Pathology, Environmental biology & pollution, Breeding, Agronomy & horticulture, Biotechnology, Diversity, Genetics, Taxonomy, Crop protection, Water & nutrients, Plants & medicine, Algae, lichens, mosses & ferns, Forestry, and Pest Control.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ProceedingsFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PubMed (Medline and more)
Selected Fulltext 1950 - present
Contains biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Approximately 5,000 journals published in the United States and more than 80 other countries are currently indexed for MEDLINE, the largest component of PubMed, using NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Unrestricted
Safety Science and Risk Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts the literature from the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational situations. Combines Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts and Risk Abstracts, which can be searched individually.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
TOXLINE Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1996 - Current
Abstracts journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and more on toxicology, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the National Library of Medicine from files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. (Contains no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.) A rolling 5-year database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Water Resources Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU
Zoological Record OVID
No Fulltext 1978 - present
Covers every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Over 5,000 international serials plus approximately 1,500 non-serial publications are currently monitored, including professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings. This link searches 1991-present. Search the earlier years by clicking on Change Database and selecting the desired dates. Allows a maximum of 10 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z