Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 16 Literature Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
African American Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1760 - 1900
Contains full-text of thousands of African-American poems.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext Colonial period to early 20th century
Includes thousands of poems from the colonial period to the early 20th century.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanites disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Arts and Humanities Citation Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Contemporary Authors - Literature Resource Center Gale
Fulltext 1900 - present
Included as part of the Literature Resource Center database. Results from Author search will include link to Contemporary Authors. The Literature Resource Center provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ProQuest
Fulltext 1473 - 1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Gale
Fulltext 18th Century
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Restricted to ODU
English Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext Pre-Tudor era - 1899
Contains poems in English from the Anglo-Saxon era to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
English Verse Drama Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1270 - 1899
Contains works from the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Essay and General Literature Index WilsonWeb
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science and history to criticism of literary works, drama and film.
Restricted to ODU
JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV Collection is funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Restricted to ODU
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1973 - present
Abstracts all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Literature Resource Center Gale
Selected Fulltext Varied
Includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources (e.g., Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism) and from books in Twayne's Author Series.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
MLA International Bibliography Gale
Selected Fulltext 1963 - present
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z